Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This is an easy way to cook thighs. It is the kind of recipe you can adjust easily to your own taste, so I like it. I'm going to say what I did to put out a few more ideas to people who might try this recipe. I used 2 1/2 cups water, brown rice, 2 cloves minced garlic, olive oil instead of butter since I didn't have much butter around, and I skipped the step with bouillion and 1 tbsp. water. The extra water is for the brown rice, which needs more water I ended up with a little extra liquid, but it was absorbed when my food cooled off. Next time I will use 2 1/4 cups water. I parboiled the rice for 20 minutes with the bouilion, water, onion, oil, and 2 cloves minced garlic so I wouldn't have to bake it longer, as brown rice takes two to three times longer to cook than white rice. I removed the skins to cut the fat content and shook lemon pepper on top of the thighs before baking. I also added some sliced chile peppers and fresh parsley before baking because I like heat. If you add fresh parsley, you will get more taste if you add it toward the end of baking, which I forgot to do. I ended up baking it 45 minutes to make sure the rice cooked through. You won't need to cook it as long if you use small thighs and white rice, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDSSUNRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I gave it a four after doing a few things other reviewers posted. I heated the butter, buillion, water, onion, and minced garlic just until butter melts, then poured this over the rice. I didn't have italian seasonings so I used seasoned salt and rubbed into chicken thighs (skin off). Once the chicken & rice was completed I added a handful of shredded cheese onto the rice. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I took advantage of some previous suggestions and used skinless thighes, only ONE bouillon cube, cut back on the butter and increased the cooking time to 55 minutes. Then I added 1/2 cup white wine (since some reviews indicated more liquid AND more flavor is needed), black pepper, 2 cloves crushed garlic and a nice amount of fresh parsley. With these modifications, I give this recipe a 4 and a half. I like that the rice goes in the mix too -- it's one less pot to clean! I used Carolina white rice since the cooking time is a bit longer than some other white rice brands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
great recipe. I mixed in a can of cream of mushrooms, sliced carrots, sliced celery,minced garlic cloves, substituted about 1/3 cup of barley for 1/3 cup of rice. and preseasoned the rice mixture. Topped with 8 bone in thighs rubbed in season baked covered at 350 for 1 hour then kicked temp to 475 for 30 min then pulled out and topped with shredded cheddar tossed back into oven for 5 minutes. turned out a little greasy but I left my chix skins on ( Best part ) Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This was a defintie '5' fpr my husband and I liked it ok too. I used skinless thighs, added garlic and cut up fresh mushrooms. I did have to cook for an extra 20 mins, but it came out perfect. Next time I will use less margarine, I would also add some peas or corn for a little extra vegetable. My husband asked if I wanted leftovers for my lunch because he wanted to eat it all, plus he kept going, "this one's a keeper" Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
Just had this for dinner and it was wonderful! Was so easy to make, even though I had to double the recipe for my large family! Even my picky eaters ate this up! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Bumpass, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
We enjoyed this recipe. Think of it as a base to which you can personalize for your family. I added carrots, mushrooms, garlic, Mrs. Dash, and exra Italian seasoning. I halved the onion amount, and didn't add the butter, but added a splash of olive oil. Next time, I don't think I will add any fat, the thighs don't need it. I also covered it. This it not fancy, but an easy dinner that you can throw together and stick in the oven 1-1.5 hours before dinner. Definatly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
This is quick to prepare, very easy and delicious! It has become one our of regular meals. I like to add a clove or two of crushed garlic and more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I found this incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina D

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
We have had this meal a few times before this review was written, we all liked it very much and it is east to make to! the only change that we really made to it was to take the skin off the chicken first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dundalk, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States