Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I used this as a base tonight, and it worked out really well. I ended up adding chopped garlic along with the onion, and I also added rings of red pepper on top of the rice for the chicken to lay on. I didn't have thighs, but did end up using bone-in breasts and the 40 minute mark was PERFECT. Thanks for this recipe, I'll definitely be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Really easy to make and very good .. I can see it would be easy to add other components and mix it up a bit! Fun basic dish ..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
The chicken is awesome in this recipe...the rice is better than plain rice, which is why it gets four stars instead of five. My only changes were to use olive oil in place of butter as many suggested, to season the chicken with seasoning salt, and sprinkle garlic powder over the entire thing. I cooked it 55 minutes to get the rice cooked, and let it sit for 5 more. Nice on pot meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Very good base recipe but needs a little more oomph, added reconstituted dried mushrooms to the rice mixture, as well as onion and garlic powder. Also, seasoned chicken with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder and a little of the italian seasoning. I like my rice to have a crunch to the surface so cooked until the top layer looked crispy and a little dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Took some of the others suggestions to modify and it came out great!! added 1 cube and parboiled the brown rice with 2 1/4 cup H20, added less butter about half the recommended amt. seasoned small skinless thighs with garlic salt, pepper, and parsley flakes. Yummy!!!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was delicious. My boyfriend thought so too. I followed the recipe but added the following: instead of 2 cups of water I put one can of golden mushroom soup into a 2-cup measuring cup. Added 1/4 cup water and filled the remaining part of the measuring cup with heavy cream. Instead of using Italian Seasoning, I seasoned both sides of the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder and sprinkled both sides with Italian bread crumbs. It was delicious. The rice had a wonderful flavor even by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Iles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
A delicious, comforting meal. I used 2 T. olive oil instead of the butter. To get this really soft and fully-cooked I needed to bake it for almost an hour and a half; 45 minutes seems far too short. We weren't crazy over the flavor the Italian seasoning gave to the dish. Next time I'll use seasoned salt and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
everyone really enjoyed this. will make again, Though I added peas to the mix towards the end of cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was pretty good, but next time I'll use half as much butter - even though I skinned my thighs it was greasy. I used poultry seasoning and a little celery salt instead of Italian seasoning, and I used 1/4 cup of cooking sherry for some of the water. I had a jar of cute little Japanese mushrooms that I tossed in there, but I should have used fresh ones to absorb some of that excess butter. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is simple but pretty bland. I found that butter was not needed due to the chicken making it oily as is. I also added more water and let it cook longer in order to fully cook the rice. I think if I make this again, I'll be making major changes to it in terms of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States