Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Made this for dinner last night, but I reduced the recipe to only 1 chicken thigh and 3/4 cup of uncooked rice. That alone took about 35 minutes to cook, so I would imagine that 6 thighs would take much longer. The chicken came out perfectly! It was so delicious and moist. The first layer of rice was hard at the top, but after I stirred it around with the moist rice from the bottom it didn't bother me. Also, didn't use the butter (for health reasons) and cut down the amount of boullion. Also, I used red onions and the colour looked great mixed in with white rice. I would make this again using the same technique and different kinds of marinades and veggies in the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amager, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Made this last night. It was very quick and easy. I took some of the other reviewer's suggestions and used bonelsess skinless chicken breasts and brown rice. I also: (1) seasoned chicken thighs with garlic powder and Grill Creations KC Style Chicken seasoning, (2) added rice to pot with 2.5 cups water and 1 tsp chicken flavored soup base until base disolved then poured mixture into pan,(3)used finely chopped sweet onions and placed on top of chicken, (4) cooked covered 50-60 minutes. It came out delicious!!! I will difinately make again.**** CORRECTION: I USED BONELESS SKINLESS CHICEKEN THIGHS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I think 2 bouillon cubes was too much, and as others said, it took much longer than 45 minutes. The water didn't even boil by 35, but the chicken looked ready. I left it it maybe a total of 50 to 60 minutes, and some of the rice was still hard, fortunately, the chicken remained moist. The only stray I made was to add one minced garlic clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This recipe was a little bland and I followed it precisely. No one at my dinner table complained however and it was definitely edible. I gave it 3 stars because if I do make it again I will definitely need to alter it- the consistency of the rice was not right, it lacked flavor, the chicken itself was bland. Might be a good starting place though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Very easy and very delicious. I used thighs and legs. I mixed white and brown rice. The rice had the consistency of risotto. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I gave it a four after doing a few things other reviewers posted. I heated the butter, buillion, water, onion, and minced garlic just until butter melts, then poured this over the rice. I didn't have italian seasonings so I used seasoned salt and rubbed into chicken thighs (skin off). Once the chicken & rice was completed I added a handful of shredded cheese onto the rice. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is probably a decent recipe. Just don't do what I did. I didn't have thighs so I used drumsticks - not right for this dish. I used asian sticky rice which is a no no - takes way too long to cook and comes out too gooey. I still gave it a 4 star because it does have good flavor and very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was a very easy and tasty meal. I actually made it at the last minute. I didn't have any uncooked white rice so I used instatnt rice instead and it turned out just great. Even my husband enjoyed it and he is not a big fan of any chicken recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: La Grange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is really good and easy. I homeschool and this is a great idea for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
very good recipe! knocks out the side dish and the meat in one shot! try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States