Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This recipe is a keeper. My husband loves chicken thighs, so I'm also on the look out for something different. This was easy and had a wonderfull flavor. I followed the recipe as written, but did not serve it on rice ( trying to watch the calories). I just put some of the mushroom gravy over the thighs and served it with a large salad. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
My husband, step son and I really loved this recipe! Of course, due to not having the bullion,I omitted it and no onion so used garlic instead. It will be a weekly meal for us from now on and it was SO easy to make! Thank you soooo much! I did use the amount of butter stated and don't think it would taste as good reducing it as others have done, just my opinion. Gotta run, having it for lunch, YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
We did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by argelia2008

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Very good - I liberally sprinkled Italian seasoning on each thigh (didn't measure) and I used large thighs so I cooked it for 45 minutes covered then about 20 minutes uncovered. Next time I will brown the chicken thighs in butter first, place on top of rice, and bake covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elisha07
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was an awesome dish!!! I did make a couple of changes though: I added one more boullion cube, about 1/4 cup more water and took another reviewers advice and added some garlic and onion salt. It turned out really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elisha07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Delish !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I made a few changes such as cutting back to one cube of bouillon and using 2 cups of chicken broth in place of the water. I also omitted the Italian seasoning and used poultry seasoning both in the rice as well as on the chicken. It turned out great and was definitely a change from the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
For the most part, my family enjoyed this, especially the thighs. I actually seasoned them with poultry seasoning, salt, pepper, seasoned salt, garlic powder, onion powder, and Italian seasoning. (Seems like a lot, but it was not overpowering and provided really good flavor.) My gripe was with the cooking time and the rice. Like almost everyone else here, I found that 45 minutes was not sufficient to cook the chicken. And even after the chicken was done, the rice was still hard! I would DEFINITELY suggest covering this with foil while it cooks; my rice absorbed NONE of the water. But as another reviewer stated, this is a good "starting point".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This recipe was simple and quick to make. The chicken came out nice and juicey and tender. The rice came out ok but it seemed that the recipe should of had more water. Also the chicken flavor didn't stay that well in the rice, maybe four cubes of boullion would have been better. But overall I would make this recipe again and just make adjustments. Definately a recipe that you can reuse by adding different things to it. The kids can even help stir things together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is a great one dish meal. I love the orginla recipe, but I've tried some variations, too. I doubled the rice to 2 cups and used long grain/wild rice. I used 2 cans of stewed tomatoes instead of doubling the water and decreased the water to 1 1/2 cups. Works just as well with chicken breast, too! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States