Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was really good, however, I did do things a little differently as did the other reviewers. First I used instant brown rice and I cooked it in my Rice Cooker Plus (pampered chef) according to pack directions. In the meantime I chopped up a very little bit of onion and pressed about 3-4 small garlic cloves and mixed in one can of chicken broth and 1/4 cup butter. Then I spread the rice in the bottom of a 9x13 and mixed in the broth mixture. I placed about 8 small boneless/skinless chicken thighs on top and seasoned them with poultry seasoning, Italian seasoning, parsley flakes, and celery salt (yum!) Then I baked for 1 hour at 350. I poured a jar of chicken gravy over the top during the last 15 minutes and I just couldn't stop eating it! Also my very picky 4 year old ate all his so I know it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Used jasmine rice; chicken broth and veggie stock instead of water; sprinkled GOOD SEASONINGS salad mix on top of chicken. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachBabe Gluten Free

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanatoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe is very much like good old southern chicken and rice. My husband and I loved it. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I've made this recipe twice this month...the first time I made it as written and it was great - goes together quick, and both my hubby and I enjoyed it. I did need to cook it for about an hour though to get the rice to absorb all of the water. The second time I used more chicken (so we could could have more leftovers) and switched the onions with celery and I liked it even more...reminded me of the taste of stuffing which was wonderful since I don't eat wheat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Chicken Zen! Simple and tasty! I added some frozen mixed veggies (peas, carrots, corn, beans), and it was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is a very good and very simple recipe that my whole family enjoyed. Nice simple ingredients and the chicken adds loads of flavor to the rice as it cooks over it! I had to use brown rice and cooked it almost all the way first with the butter and boullion cubes. I also only had bone in thighs and it took a bit longer to cook! Well done, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My husband loves chicken thighs too, however, I made a few mods: (1) used quarter pieces, (2) added 1/2 t. garlic, (3) covered and cooked the dish for an hour and until done, and (4) liberally sprinkled italian seasoning on it. What I SHOULD've done--but didn't--was take the skins off the pieces. All other mods made the dish very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Very good. It is an easy recipe that is pretty much an all in one and I really enjoyed it how easy it was to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This recipe is a keeper. My husband loves chicken thighs, so I'm also on the look out for something different. This was easy and had a wonderfull flavor. I followed the recipe as written, but did not serve it on rice ( trying to watch the calories). I just put some of the mushroom gravy over the thighs and served it with a large salad. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
My husband, step son and I really loved this recipe! Of course, due to not having the bullion,I omitted it and no onion so used garlic instead. It will be a weekly meal for us from now on and it was SO easy to make! Thank you soooo much! I did use the amount of butter stated and don't think it would taste as good reducing it as others have done, just my opinion. Gotta run, having it for lunch, YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States