Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Yummy. Grated parmesan puts this dish over the edge!! Sprinkle it on liberally right before serving. Almost tastes like risotto. Make sure you cook it long enough so the rice isn't crunchy. For me it took about 50 minutes. I also used olive oil and garlic instead of butter and onion. I'm actually eating it right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I wasn't sure about trying this, the reviews are all so mixed it made me nervous. However, I'm always on the look out for dairy free recipes since dairy makes my husband sick. I made a few changes based on the reviews I read. I started by seasoning the chicken with some Lawry's seasoned salt and then browning them in a skillet with a bit of margarine, setting them aside when golden brown. Before making the rice mix I sautéed the onions in the same skillet and added 6 cloves minced garlic and about 1 ½ cups of chopped fresh portobello mushrooms. I added 1 TBS of original flavor Mrs. Dash to the rice mix and sprinkled some dried parsley over the chicken after it was all put together. I cooked it uncovered and after 45 minutes the chicken was cooked perfectly. The rice cooked, but didn't seem to cook evenly. It was a bit overcooked and mushy in places. That might've been because I doubled the recipe and used a bigger baking dish. Anyway, it got mixed reviews from my family when I served it last night. One of my kids loved the chicken but hated the rice, my husband thought it was all just okay, my 3 other kids liked it but didn't love it, and I didn't care for the chicken but I really liked the flavor of the rice. I think I will try this again, maybe tweak it a bit more. I think I will add more Mrs. Dash, 2 or even 3 TBS instead of just one, and maybe some other spices. I thought the rice was good but would be even better with more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a good starter recipe. I used 2 cups of heated fat free/low sodium chicken broth for the water and bullion. To that I added 1 tablespoon dried onion, 3/4 teaspoon sage, 1 tablespoon celery flakes. I also lightly floured, salted and heavily peppered the chicken and browned in canola oil first. Baked for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I wanted to like it as thighs are economical...but the rice was a little tasteless. I prob won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
It was OK, nothing to rave about, but was easy and used things I had on hand without having to run to the store. I should've sauteed the onions first before mixing with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellenhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA
Photo by shakinmaibooty
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
A delicious recipe that is light and quick to make! It refreshing to eat a chicken/rice dish that is not cream base. I sauteed onions in butter for a few minutes before mixing it in with everything else. I seared chicken thighs on both sides before laying it on top bed of rice. Other than that I followed the recipe and ingredients to a T. yummie! my hubbie asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shakinmaibooty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I had taken chicken thighs out to cook tonight. My husband seen them and asked me to cook the chicken and rice dish that I cooked a few weeks ago. He is not one to request I cook something. He commented that the rice was very good and he liked it better than the ones with cream of something soup. I will be keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe. I think it would have been better had I used boneless skinless chicken breasts. It just came out really greasy using the chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was really good, however, I did do things a little differently as did the other reviewers. First I used instant brown rice and I cooked it in my Rice Cooker Plus (pampered chef) according to pack directions. In the meantime I chopped up a very little bit of onion and pressed about 3-4 small garlic cloves and mixed in one can of chicken broth and 1/4 cup butter. Then I spread the rice in the bottom of a 9x13 and mixed in the broth mixture. I placed about 8 small boneless/skinless chicken thighs on top and seasoned them with poultry seasoning, Italian seasoning, parsley flakes, and celery salt (yum!) Then I baked for 1 hour at 350. I poured a jar of chicken gravy over the top during the last 15 minutes and I just couldn't stop eating it! Also my very picky 4 year old ate all his so I know it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Used jasmine rice; chicken broth and veggie stock instead of water; sprinkled GOOD SEASONINGS salad mix on top of chicken. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachBabe Gluten Free

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanatoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States