Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a good starter recipe. I used 2 cups of heated fat free/low sodium chicken broth for the water and bullion. To that I added 1 tablespoon dried onion, 3/4 teaspoon sage, 1 tablespoon celery flakes. I also lightly floured, salted and heavily peppered the chicken and browned in canola oil first. Baked for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I wanted to like it as thighs are economical...but the rice was a little tasteless. I prob won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
It was OK, nothing to rave about, but was easy and used things I had on hand without having to run to the store. I should've sauteed the onions first before mixing with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellenhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA
Photo by shakinmaibooty
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
A delicious recipe that is light and quick to make! It refreshing to eat a chicken/rice dish that is not cream base. I sauteed onions in butter for a few minutes before mixing it in with everything else. I seared chicken thighs on both sides before laying it on top bed of rice. Other than that I followed the recipe and ingredients to a T. yummie! my hubbie asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shakinmaibooty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I had taken chicken thighs out to cook tonight. My husband seen them and asked me to cook the chicken and rice dish that I cooked a few weeks ago. He is not one to request I cook something. He commented that the rice was very good and he liked it better than the ones with cream of something soup. I will be keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe. I think it would have been better had I used boneless skinless chicken breasts. It just came out really greasy using the chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was really good, however, I did do things a little differently as did the other reviewers. First I used instant brown rice and I cooked it in my Rice Cooker Plus (pampered chef) according to pack directions. In the meantime I chopped up a very little bit of onion and pressed about 3-4 small garlic cloves and mixed in one can of chicken broth and 1/4 cup butter. Then I spread the rice in the bottom of a 9x13 and mixed in the broth mixture. I placed about 8 small boneless/skinless chicken thighs on top and seasoned them with poultry seasoning, Italian seasoning, parsley flakes, and celery salt (yum!) Then I baked for 1 hour at 350. I poured a jar of chicken gravy over the top during the last 15 minutes and I just couldn't stop eating it! Also my very picky 4 year old ate all his so I know it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Used jasmine rice; chicken broth and veggie stock instead of water; sprinkled GOOD SEASONINGS salad mix on top of chicken. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachBabe Gluten Free

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanatoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe is very much like good old southern chicken and rice. My husband and I loved it. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I've made this recipe twice this month...the first time I made it as written and it was great - goes together quick, and both my hubby and I enjoyed it. I did need to cook it for about an hour though to get the rice to absorb all of the water. The second time I used more chicken (so we could could have more leftovers) and switched the onions with celery and I liked it even more...reminded me of the taste of stuffing which was wonderful since I don't eat wheat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States