Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I just made this, pretty much exactly as explained (though I used 1/2 an onion, it was very large). It was ok, but the rice came out pretty overcooked for some reason. It did have a pretty good flavor though, and it's a very inexpensive dish. I would make this again, but not often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM2AARON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is not bad as written. It could use a few more spices, and the rice was a little greasy from the chicken, so I am not sure the addition of butter is necessary. But, this was an easy recipe using ingredients I already had on hand, so am satisfied. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I read through many of the reviews and decided to make this last night with a few modifications. Instead of butter, I used olive oil, and I added a half cup more water. I also chopped a clove of garlic with the chopped onion. I didn't use bouillon cubes and instead used chicken broth, and I threw in some frozen vegetables (peas and carrots) with the rice, and a few cherry tomatoes from the garden. I added some garlic powder to the spices as well. To ensure everything cooked evenly, I stirred the rice a couple times during cooking and turned the chicken over as well. This was really easy to make and the whole thing was ready in about an hour (prep and cooking), so it was a great meal to make after a long day at work. My boyfriend raved about it and had seconds, and continued raving about it long after we'd finished eating. It's definitely something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a great and easy recipe. I made this last night for my fam. and they loved it. I tweaked it a little though. Instead of the bullion cubes, I replaced the 2c of water with chicken broth and added a package of onion soup mix to the rice and broth. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa' Kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is a yummy recipe!! Used 1 can of chicken broth and 1/4 cup water. No chicken bouillon. I took the the skin off the thighs. I sauteed onion and mushroom in part of the butter and mixed the rest of the butter melted into the rice. My only difficulty was the rice took about 90 mins. to cook. I took the chicken out after about 50 mins., covered the dish and let the rice cook more. It turned out delicious, but I think next time I will cook the rice before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Added a bit more seasoning to give it a little kick some Ground Sage on the chicken and a little cayenne for Spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Cooked according to the recipe......almost. Used chicken granules instead of bouillon cubes and was happy with the results. This week I'm taking a bigger batch to a relative's home but will add mushrooms and carrots. This is a great "make ahead dish" and I never have enough of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I cut the recipe down for 1. Though, after the chicken and rice were finished cooking I did mix the rice in with some plain rice because it was rather greasy and needed to be mellowed some. Perhaps i ought to have used defrosted chicken and not used the rock hard ice chicken because then I could have taken off the skin and fat. But I think as a recipe goes, this was fine. Worth 5 stars because if you use chicken without all that fat on it, it'll be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I searched for a recipe to using the ingredients box because I really needed to go to the grocery store and I found this. I was totally satisfied with how this turned out! I never had a baked dish that I didn't have to precook the rice so I was skeptical about the fluffiness of the rice but it was delicious. Even the kids loved it and they hate baked chicken. I know it was better than good because my mother'n'law enjoyed it and she doesn't eat rice. This will definitely be a keeper in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This is one of the easiest simpliest recipes. I thought it would be plain but i made some modifications that made it so full of flavor that my husband wanted me to make it two nights in a row. I added a bag of frozen mixed veggies with the rice and also 1/2 a turkey kelbasa sausage. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States