Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
If I could give this 10 stars, I would! I don't know why people are saying theirs was like soup, or didn't thicken up; also nothing needs to be added to this. I followed the ingredients list, but I only used one cup of canola oil. I used my immersion blender by first blending the garlic, salt and lemon juice. I slowly added my one cup of oil, and let me tell you, my sauce has the consistency of thick mayonnaise. There is no need to add an egg white, or cold water, or any thing else suggested by some reviewers. I couldn't stop eating it! This just goes to show why I follow a recipe then see for myself if there is a problem BEFORE I rate it. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
My boyfriend and I got hooked on the garlic sauce at a Lebanese restaurant but didn't always feel like driving the 35 minutes to get some when we had the craving. I tried this recipe and while mine isn't quite as thick as what we get at the restaurant, it tastes amazing. I usually make half what this one does but use the full bulb of garlic. As others have said, the immersion blender is key...this recipe does NOT work well in a food processor or regular blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've been making this sauce many different ways. This is the best. Plus when you finish its already in the jar. Genius. Next time I'll reduce the salt. Mine was very thick without egg.. I alternated but I got more heavy handed than you need to with a food processor/emulsion method because the immersion blender takes the liquid a bit at a time anyway. Thank you! Also, if you spread this sauce on tilapia or any thin filet of fish then sprinkle Parmesan and broil on parchment 4 minutes, flip and resauce, 4 minutes more its an amazing meal kids love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliemae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great recipe. So easy, I can't understand why some have had difficulty. I used a tall jar, immersion blender, and all the ingredients as stated. I blended the garlic and salt first, then added the oil and lemon juice. I got a great texture within moments. You have to use really fresh garlic. if the garlic has green sprouts in the cloves, the garlic taste will be unpleasantly strong(bitter). Makes a lot of sauce, but at least my family will not be complaining that we don't have enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I used exact ingredients and it turned out great. As for not using a blender, I used mine and it emulsified beautifully. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Did it the first time with ingredients mentioned and it was a soup even when adding ice water and egg white. red all reviews and tried again. Nabil got it right and it came out perfect. Here's what I did: In a tall jar with a hand blender mix the following ingredients: 1 head of garlic, 1/2 tbsp corse sea salt, 1tsp white vinegar, 1 egg white and juice of 1/2 lemon (not half cup). Once mixed, about 30sec, very very very slowly add 1 cup of veg oil (not olive). It should take you 2-3 min to add the oil as you're doing it slowly and the result will be a very thick and fluffy garlic sauce. Yes it's potent but what do you expect. Enjoy folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobeos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This reminds me of the garlic sauce from Dearborn. It is strong and rich, I did make it using 2 whole heads of garlic but I wouldn't change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My only complaint is that there was too much lemon. The consistency was just like I find in a Flint Michigan area restaurant, similar to mayonnaise, and I think with much less lemon, the flavor would match, as well. Thank you SO much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
the garlicy taste is too intense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I will make a slight amendment that will make this sauce a bit thick: 1 head garlic, minced 1/2 a lemon juice (not 1/2 cup) 1 cup of oil (I use vegetable not olive) 1 teaspoon white vinegar 1 teaspoon mustard 1 egg white Procedure: (you can use a regular blender or immersion blender, I prefer the immersion blender) mince the garlic and place in the mixer bowl along with all ingredients except the oil mix the above for 20 to 30 seconds here is the trick: start by adding the oil very very very slowly while continuing to mix, the oil should be added in a very thin line (not the whole amount) continue mixing and adding oil VERY slowly until the sauce becomes thick. usually it takes few minutes. This is the best garlic sauce, and its used in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Najib

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States