Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Way too salty and lemony and too much of an olive oil taste. Followed the directions exactly except that I used lemon juice from a bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is a simple and tasty recipe. The quality of the olive oil can really make a difference - buy the slightly more expensive bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
MMmm!! I love this stuff. I usually add a tablespoon of Mayonnaise that's the way I learned. For the reviewer that complained, -make sure your olive oil is a good quality, more $$ - and not stale- or else the taste will not be pleasant. Keep your oil in the coolest place, not a warm one. This is really yummy with roasted chicken- dip the pieces in and enjoy. Be careful or you will over-eat! Oh, and make sure the person who will be enjoying your close company later has had a good helping of it as well- or you will repel them. And stay home for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I'm not sure exactly how to review this. I used slightly less salt than called for, the juice of two lemons (slightly less than 1/2 a cup), and like another reviewer, I also added about a tablespoon of mayo. Most importantly, I halved the oil called for, using only 1/2 a cup of each. I blended for a total time of 5-10 minutes and, even with half the oil, this never got anywhere near the consistency of mayonnaise, which is what I am used to. The flavor is good, but I have no idea how to get the thicker consistency promised and desired, even with adding extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Awesome recipe don't change a thing. You MUST use an immersion blender otherwise it will separate. Food processors and blenders don't work. I purchased a bamix just for this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I have been making Lebanese Garlic Sauce for a few years, and this is the best recipe I have found. It tastes just like the sauce at our favorite Middle Eastern restaurant. I did make a few changes. Here is the recipe with my alterations: * 1 head garlic * 1/2 tablespoon sea salt (make sure it is course-ground or this will still be too much salt) * 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice * 1/2 cup vegetable oil * 3/4 cup olive oil (not extra virgin - mild-tasting, preferably cold-pressed) So, less salt and less oil. Also, I believe the immersion blender is key here to emulsify the oil to the proper consistency. Loved it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Peeling and pressing all that garlic is a bit tedious but it IS the star ingredient after all. I found it way too salty so next time it'll be less salt and less oil for me. I marinated lamb chops in this all day long and then I baked them slowly for an hour, drained off the juices then baked them a further 15 mins on high and they were truly awesome. My husband ate a heck of a lot of lamb that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Made this this morning,way too watery, not thick at all. The taste is great but way to thin for a thick sauce. Hopefully I can find a garlic sauce that is thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Great recipe, Sam's club sells whole clove garlic already peeled in a big jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
didn't like this at all... the flavor was not good, and the consistency reminded me of salad dressing, not at all like I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States