Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This worked well, except I used 2 cups canola oil instead of the other oils. I think that helped with the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
The flavor was fine, but I could not get it anywhere close to the consistency of mayo. I even added some starch. I served this at a party with an Italian appetizer but had to tell people to stir the sauce before dipping because it was so separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I thought this was very good, however I did have some trouble getting it to thicken and added a bit of plain yogurt. (I went to the store earlier to get an immersion blender - it was even on sale!- and it got left behind with my shampoo!) I ate at a Greek restaurant that served this and was looking for a good recipe, that was when I stumbled across allrecipes.com and am now addicted! I served this with Shish Tawook,squash patties and skillet bread (didn't have time to make pitas). Will make this again having the blender to start with. Never heard of the egg white...hmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This sauce is missing one VERY IMPORTANT ingredient to make it into the perfect textured garlic sauce...a raw egg white. I know it may sound a little crazy but you will forget all about that little detail once you are eating it. Other than that, good recipe, thanks alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was just okay for us. There seemed to be a little too much lemon flavor; I was expecting it to be more subtle and complimentary to the garlic. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I'm not sure how to rate this. I love garlic sauce and I only used the given ingredients but my amounts were completely different. I used twice as much garlic and only olive oil to make the consistency similar to what I grew up with. I loved what I made but it wasn't the recipe here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This recipe is a winner. Over the years I have tried to make this with different implements, without success. Using the hand blender is ingenious. The consistency is perfect. Thank you so much!!! No more boring bbq's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
didn't like this at all... the flavor was not good, and the consistency reminded me of salad dressing, not at all like I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Great recipe, Sam's club sells whole clove garlic already peeled in a big jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Made this this morning,way too watery, not thick at all. The taste is great but way to thin for a thick sauce. Hopefully I can find a garlic sauce that is thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States