Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was excellent! I did make a few minor changes based on some previous reviews - I only used about half the olive oil, and I doubled the garlic as we were looking for something really high-powered! Thank you to the reviewer who suggested the addition of an egg white to thicken it if you're looking for something similar to what you find in the Detroit area. I'm a Detroit-area native living out of state, and my husband and I have been trying to duplicate LaShish's garlic sauce for years! This comes very close. It also goes VERY WELL with Shish Tawook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
the ingredients are great and acurate but as a lebanese i would suggest blending the garlic with the salt first and then slowly adding the oil and the lemon in alternation as you blend. go slow and even though it's a little more complicated, if you do it right you'll end up with a really thick mixture almost like a sour cream dip! the process is a little tricky so even if it doesn't work the first time try again and make sure to keep an eye on the mixture as you blend so it wont fall appart. oh, and you might not need to use all of the oil and lemon, as soon as the mixture turns into a fluffy white substance and you think you have enought, taste it and if satisfied with the balance of flavors, you're done! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I love this stuff! I halved the oil and added about 1/2 cup drained canned chickpeas. Immersion blender is definitely the only way to go - unsuccessfully tried the food processor and regular blender first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Just finished making this to have with dinner tonight, and am hoping the garlic flavor mellows out a bit as it chills, it's got a pretty strong bite to it. I slowly added the oils and lemon juice, alternating them, and used an immersion blender. It was fairly thick, but not quite the mayo texture I'm used to, so instead of egg white I added about a teaspoon of merengue powder and it thickened up beautifully. Might try this in the food processor next time, my immersion blender was heating up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Love the flavor but the amount of oil in this is a heart attack waiting to happen. Do use less olive oil and more vegetable oil since the olive oil flavor can overwhelm the sauce. I added 1 egg but even with this, did not get the mayonnaise consistency I was looking for. This makes a ton. I wanted to make less but you have to keep adding oil to get it thicker so in the end, you will get a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This tasted good but I utterly failed at using this recipe in a normal blender. It did work though when I used a food processor and slowly added the oil and lemon juice (alternating the oil and lemon juice bit by bit). thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This sauce is great! I did use a blender and a garlic press so the sause would be smooth. I also added 1 egg white. It has held up for over a week and is staying together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I'd say that this is about as good as any restaurant garlic sauce. As a matter of fact, I've just recently started making my own again after our local favorite restaurant closed down (they made the best garlic sauce and bread!) I like that I can control the ingredients: so I used mostly olive oil and then added canola oil-probably 1/2 cup. I used the immersion blender to chop the garlic and then added the rest of the ingredients. I like the idea of using pasteurized egg whites to thicken, if necessary-but I didn't need to. You just need to add enough oil and add it slowly. I wonder if lighlty roasting the garlic first would get rid of that strong garlic "bite"? Then, I think my kids would love it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This garlic sauce is amazing -- so flavorful and rich, but yet extremely easy to make. It rivals the garlic sauce of some of the popular Lebanese restaurants to which I've been. It has a nice tangy flavor from the fresh lemons but if you don't like things too sour, cut back on the lemon juice a bit. I think I will reduce the salt just a tad next time I make it just out of personal preference. Overall, this sauce is fabulous. You won't regret making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I had some Lebanese pita bread, which I really like. I found this recipe remembering I had eaten it once with roast chicken, potatoes, salad, and pita bread from a restaurant. I did about 1/4 of the recipe and used only olive oil. This recipe is very close to the garlic dip I remember with that meal. Although, I couldn't quite get mine as thick as I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Chicken

This easy, tasty dish is perfect for a weeknight dinner.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States