Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Excellent, love this sauce. It didn't thicken as I added all the ingredients slowly and alternating but I had added a little oil and lemon juice first to be able to blend the garlic and salt. Next time I will try to puree the garlic with the salt and THEN start adding the liquids alternating. I used a little egg white and it did thicken. Also my mistake was making it in a wider bowl as opposed to a tall thin jar. I should have read all the reviews first before making it. However after adding the egg white and transferring to a tall jar it blended and thickened wonderfully. The taste is 5 star, the recipe is 4 since you have to read the reviews to get the recipe to thicken right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I too ended up with a bowl of liquid. I tried egg whites, mayo...helped a little. The key to sauce being thick and creamy are two things (MUST USE) 1) IMMERSION BLENDER 2) "QUART SIZED JAR OR CUP". A bowl won't work!...at least for me it didn't. When I used the immersion blender WITH a quart sized cup, it came out perfect. Be sure to put the blender on the bottom of the cup or jar and let the suction work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe (easy enough) read a lot of reviews to make sure I put all chances on my side... but yet... here I am standing with a bowl of extremely liquid garlic scented oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I used a heaping teaspoon instead of a tablespoon, and it still came out really salty! I also just threw everything (garlic not even minced) in my immersion blender cup and went to town. I set my blender to 5 (out of 10) and the longer I blended, the thicker it got. It was totally thick enough for me, and I'm used to the stuff from Dearborn/Detroit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Didn't get thick like I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
FINALLY! A recipe for "garlic sauce" or "toum" that actually worked for me! I used only canola oil (no olive oil), kosher salt, 8 cloves minced garlic, and the juice of one lemon. I started by blending (with my immersion blender) the garlic, kosher salt and about 1/4 cup of the oil, just so I knew all the 'chucks' were broken up. After that I added the lemon juice and the rest of the olive oil. I blended with my immersion blender for almost 5 minutes and it was still soupy so I started experimenting. I added one egg white (helped a little) then I added 1T of ice water.. (HELPED A A LOT) the change was almost instantly thick white 'mayo'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I love this recipe. I used canola oil, and it whipped up thick and white within seconds. The immersion blender is key. Fresh squeezed lemon juice- nice tang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Perfect recipe! I took the suggestions of other reviewers, and added the lemon and oil alternatively, a bit at a time. This way I was able to get it exactly the way i like it. i think in the end I used less olive oil, and a tiny bit less vegetable oil than the recipe called for, but I think this is based on personal preference. Perfect recipe, this is exactly what I was looking for. Note: I also used about half the salt (I had to use plain table salt because it's all I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Delicious and so very easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good. I made a smaller batch and I guess I used a little too much lemon juice, but otherwise it was terrific. I can't wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States