Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe (easy enough) read a lot of reviews to make sure I put all chances on my side... but yet... here I am standing with a bowl of extremely liquid garlic scented oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I used a heaping teaspoon instead of a tablespoon, and it still came out really salty! I also just threw everything (garlic not even minced) in my immersion blender cup and went to town. I set my blender to 5 (out of 10) and the longer I blended, the thicker it got. It was totally thick enough for me, and I'm used to the stuff from Dearborn/Detroit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Didn't get thick like I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
FINALLY! A recipe for "garlic sauce" or "toum" that actually worked for me! I used only canola oil (no olive oil), kosher salt, 8 cloves minced garlic, and the juice of one lemon. I started by blending (with my immersion blender) the garlic, kosher salt and about 1/4 cup of the oil, just so I knew all the 'chucks' were broken up. After that I added the lemon juice and the rest of the olive oil. I blended with my immersion blender for almost 5 minutes and it was still soupy so I started experimenting. I added one egg white (helped a little) then I added 1T of ice water.. (HELPED A A LOT) the change was almost instantly thick white 'mayo'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I love this recipe. I used canola oil, and it whipped up thick and white within seconds. The immersion blender is key. Fresh squeezed lemon juice- nice tang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Perfect recipe! I took the suggestions of other reviewers, and added the lemon and oil alternatively, a bit at a time. This way I was able to get it exactly the way i like it. i think in the end I used less olive oil, and a tiny bit less vegetable oil than the recipe called for, but I think this is based on personal preference. Perfect recipe, this is exactly what I was looking for. Note: I also used about half the salt (I had to use plain table salt because it's all I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Delicious and so very easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good. I made a smaller batch and I guess I used a little too much lemon juice, but otherwise it was terrific. I can't wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Taste was very good. But I had trouble. First time: followed ingredient proportions except only used 4 cloves of garlic. I blended for almost 20 minutes but sauce didn't thicken. I added an egg white and it became very thick instantaneously. Second time: exactly as first time but added 1/4C olive oil & 1/4C veg oil. Did not thicken. Added another egg white. Did not thicken. Added a third egg white. Still didn't thicken. It's sitting in the fridge right now. Not enough garlic? Suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Worked perfectly, I used extra virgin olive oil, but I halved it and made up the difference with the canola oil :) Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States