Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
the garlicy taste is too intense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I will make a slight amendment that will make this sauce a bit thick: 1 head garlic, minced 1/2 a lemon juice (not 1/2 cup) 1 cup of oil (I use vegetable not olive) 1 teaspoon white vinegar 1 teaspoon mustard 1 egg white Procedure: (you can use a regular blender or immersion blender, I prefer the immersion blender) mince the garlic and place in the mixer bowl along with all ingredients except the oil mix the above for 20 to 30 seconds here is the trick: start by adding the oil very very very slowly while continuing to mix, the oil should be added in a very thin line (not the whole amount) continue mixing and adding oil VERY slowly until the sauce becomes thick. usually it takes few minutes. This is the best garlic sauce, and its used in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Najib

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Really tasty to eat with chicken kabob. I needed to add the egg white to thick the sauce, even with the immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyum
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Okay, so I was excited for this "fool proof" recipe but then initially had trouble with getting it to thicken up. I think the secret is the temperature, not the egg white addition. I was blending it with my immersion blender and noticed that the liquid and my blender was getting warm/hot. I blended it for quite some time and it was still liquid. So I stopped, let it rest, read some reviews about letting it blend for longer, went back to it, and put my cooled-down immersion blender in and: voila! It was INSTANTLY thick. I read someone else talk about adding 1T of ice water which made it instantly thick. The flavor is AWESOME! I added less salt based on the reviews but everything else I followed to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Kate*Pan*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
WOW! This was SO good! I made this with my own hummus recipe and the Syrian Bread recipe on this site. Everything tasted just like a Middle-Eastern restaurant. The garlic sauce did turn out just a little too liquidy, but I think I added too much olive oil. (I will start with less next time and gradually add more.) Mine was still delicious, though! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
The secret ingredient is add mayo, you will be amazed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This was good and pretty close to what I've had in Lebanese restaurants (where it's called "Garlic Whip"). Once you put your immersion blender in it's kind of fascinating to watch it come together into a sauce. I found using a whole head of garlic made it a little overwhelmingly garlicky the day I made it but oddly, when I had leftovers the next day the garlic taste had pretty much dissipated, so don't count on it lasting overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Excellent, love this sauce. It didn't thicken as I added all the ingredients slowly and alternating but I had added a little oil and lemon juice first to be able to blend the garlic and salt. Next time I will try to puree the garlic with the salt and THEN start adding the liquids alternating. I used a little egg white and it did thicken. Also my mistake was making it in a wider bowl as opposed to a tall thin jar. I should have read all the reviews first before making it. However after adding the egg white and transferring to a tall jar it blended and thickened wonderfully. The taste is 5 star, the recipe is 4 since you have to read the reviews to get the recipe to thicken right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I too ended up with a bowl of liquid. I tried egg whites, mayo...helped a little. The key to sauce being thick and creamy are two things (MUST USE) 1) IMMERSION BLENDER 2) "QUART SIZED JAR OR CUP". A bowl won't work!...at least for me it didn't. When I used the immersion blender WITH a quart sized cup, it came out perfect. Be sure to put the blender on the bottom of the cup or jar and let the suction work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States