Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
great cookies, soft and thick!But don't use this icing recipe. there are better ones out there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This was the perfect sugar cookie. I won't consider another recipe! Thanks! I've made these twice and both times turned out beautifully with no browning. Also they stay soft for several days. I roll them out and cut them directly onto parchment paper, remove the scrap, and lift the whole sheet carefully onto the cookie sheet. Zero drama from transferring raw cutouts and no sticking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
These were the best sugar cookies I've ever made or eaten! The only thing different that I did was to add almond extract. They were so easy to roll out and I will never use another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
One word....Yummy!!!!! Best sugar cookie I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Geeta
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Great recipe for my fist time making cookies! I used a handmixer for all of the mixing even though on step one it actually says to "stir" it in the dry ingredients. If there was a quality difference I didn't notice it. I also added extra vanilla extract but I didn't have Almond extract but it still tasted pretty good but I would not reduce the sugar in this recipe as sugar recommended is just right. The one thing I would say is that thickness of the cookies should probably be a little bit less than half inch because they really rise and lose their shape if you use cookie cutters. I also couldn't believe how simple of the icing recipe was and I will never spend another dollar on store-bought icing again! It turned out nice and shiny. The kids had a blast decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Skinner
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Absolutely LOVED this cookie recipe....I halved it because I only had 5 eggs on hand. It still made a nice bunch of cookies. I did not use the frosting recipe listed but stuck to my old standard icing. Love the Almond flavor and the slight crunch at first bite but soft inside. :-) They kept their shape so the Rabbits, chicks, and carrots stayed nice for decorating. I rolled my dough to about 3/8 inch rather than 1/2 just so I could make more with half batch recipe and they were still plenty BIG and FAT....see my photo above. :-) Happy Easter baking everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Skinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I LOVE the taste of this cookie! I was looking for a thick, dense sugar cookie...this is it! Made according to recipe except that I added 1/2 tsp almond extract. I used my own recipe for the frosting and they were perfect! My only drawback is that they somewhat lost their shape when cooking, even though I chilled the cookies for 15 minutes after rolling them out. Now I'm on a search to solve that dilemma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenhurst, Georgia, USA
Living In: Colfax, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Agree with most-these are easy cookies to make, but somewhat bland in taste. I added 3 tablespoons of orange juice when creaming the butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These cookies are so delicious! I didn't get 75 cookies out of the batch. I might have made them on the thicker side which made them cake like. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I'm taking 1 star away due to confusion in the ingredients and directions (maybe it'll get edited so you don't have the same problem). The ingredients do not designate what is for the cookie and what is for the icing, but after reading it was pretty easy to separate what's what, except that the vanilla in the icing directions calls for 1 tsp but on ingredients list you have 2 listings for vanilla. One for a half tsp the other for 1 1/2 tsp. Which one to use for the cookie? We'll there enters the other problem. If you follow the directions it never tells you to add vanilla in the cookie directions. So, I went through the making of the recipe, put it in the frig, and then realized she had vanilla in the ingredients for the cookie. Took it back out, but didn't know how much to add; 1/2 tsp or 1 1/2 tsp. I ended up, thankfully just reading what other reviewers said and added 1/4 cup more sugar, 1Tbl of vanilla extract and 1tsp of almond extract. Now with all said and done, the cookies are yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States