Thermos Bottle Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. I double it to feed 3 guys, and we have leftovers for lunch for days. I basically follow the recipe exactly with the exception of leaving out some of the tomato elements. I usually leave out the tomato soup because it is so high in sodium. I add extra carrots because we like them, and also add some salt-free or low-sodium beef broth. This is easy, wonderful, and if you add a pasta of some sort, very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Very good, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I had some rich onion soup type broth to use up, so I used this recipe as to the beef and veggies. Used only 1 lb of beef, but added the amount of veggies as written, but didn't cook the vegies for an hour because I hate soggy veggies in soup. Lastly, I added ditalini pasta. The end result was absolutely supurb and I credit this recipe for a great starting point!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
The family loved it. It was really simple to make, as it doesn't take long and only needs to simmer. I hardly ever measure ingredients but I'm sure I did not add all the recommended water... maybe a little more than half. And a soup like this I always throw in a handful of cheddar cheese to give it a creamy taste. I also added some organic shell pasta to really fill everyone up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I would not make it again. my husband actually liked it, but i thought it was very bland and i did not like the herbs in it. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe is very easy. I made some minor adjustments to add a bit of spice and flavor. 1 can of rotel 4 teaspoons of chicken bullion granules or 4 cubes (whatever you have) I also tossed in 1 and half cups of rice. This recipe is just as good the next day and keeps very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I thought this recipe needed some more spice, but I used no salt tomato sauce and no salt diced tomatos so that was probably my fault. So I added a pack of Lipton's onion soup mix (so no longer low sodium at all!!) but ummm...sooooo good. I think I am addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Just made this stew this afternoon, and it turned out GREAT!! I added a bit more tomato sauce and crushed tomatoes. Very flavorful, filling and healthy (used ground turkey instead of beef). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura A.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori M Jones
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is a classic vegetable beef style soup. It is easy to make and the ingredients are inexpensive. The stew filled my 8qt Dutch oven. Everyone was well-fed, lunches were made for the next day, and I put some in the freezer for a rainy day. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridge City, Texas, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was such a filling and hearty dish. My family loved it. I did add one can of kidney beans and elbow macaroni(for my kids!). I will for sure make this again on a cold snowy afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States