Thermos Bottle Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. I double it to feed 3 guys, and we have leftovers for lunch for days. I basically follow the recipe exactly with the exception of leaving out some of the tomato elements. I usually leave out the tomato soup because it is so high in sodium. I add extra carrots because we like them, and also add some salt-free or low-sodium beef broth. This is easy, wonderful, and if you add a pasta of some sort, very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Very good, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I had some rich onion soup type broth to use up, so I used this recipe as to the beef and veggies. Used only 1 lb of beef, but added the amount of veggies as written, but didn't cook the vegies for an hour because I hate soggy veggies in soup. Lastly, I added ditalini pasta. The end result was absolutely supurb and I credit this recipe for a great starting point!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
The family loved it. It was really simple to make, as it doesn't take long and only needs to simmer. I hardly ever measure ingredients but I'm sure I did not add all the recommended water... maybe a little more than half. And a soup like this I always throw in a handful of cheddar cheese to give it a creamy taste. I also added some organic shell pasta to really fill everyone up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I would not make it again. my husband actually liked it, but i thought it was very bland and i did not like the herbs in it. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe is very easy. I made some minor adjustments to add a bit of spice and flavor. 1 can of rotel 4 teaspoons of chicken bullion granules or 4 cubes (whatever you have) I also tossed in 1 and half cups of rice. This recipe is just as good the next day and keeps very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I thought this recipe needed some more spice, but I used no salt tomato sauce and no salt diced tomatos so that was probably my fault. So I added a pack of Lipton's onion soup mix (so no longer low sodium at all!!) but ummm...sooooo good. I think I am addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Just made this stew this afternoon, and it turned out GREAT!! I added a bit more tomato sauce and crushed tomatoes. Very flavorful, filling and healthy (used ground turkey instead of beef). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura A.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori M Jones
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is a classic vegetable beef style soup. It is easy to make and the ingredients are inexpensive. The stew filled my 8qt Dutch oven. Everyone was well-fed, lunches were made for the next day, and I put some in the freezer for a rainy day. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridge City, Texas, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was such a filling and hearty dish. My family loved it. I did add one can of kidney beans and elbow macaroni(for my kids!). I will for sure make this again on a cold snowy afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States