Thera's Canadian Fried Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was fantastic. The kids loved rolling out the dough and of course, putting the toppings on later. Someone asked about freezing: I froze a few samples, they were great. Thaw at room temperature, pop in a 300 degree oven and when they are the desired temperature, remove (for us, this was just a few minutes). We set up a "toppings buffet" and served them with Nutella, our homemade jams, M&Ms, peanuts, trail mix: you get the idea. Our family loved that they each got their own, as when we go to the fair we buy it as a treat and share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
If doing the traditional cinnamon sugar topping don't forget the fresh squeezed lemon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaylea
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I absolutely love the real thing and this recipe is just as good! It was so easy and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
We are a Canadian family living overseas and my son had to do a home country presentation. He asked me to make beaver tails! Thankfully I found this recipe. They are awesome. Nice and thin. I used only whole wheat flour. I halved the recipe so 3 cups of flour and one egg. Turned out perfectly. Everyone loved them at school fantastic result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Living abroad it is always nice to be able to make something that can bring a little taste of home to us. We made this for the Multi-cultural lunch at the children's school and they were a HUGE hit. Thank you for the recipe and for making us the hit of the classroom! Next time we will be sure to add a few different toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Utterly the most amazing fried dough recipe I've ever come across. The variations I can do with the dough is endless. Like most I made my first batch as instructed and the outcome was amazing. Because there was such a large portion of dough from this recipe I divided it into 3 portions for experimentation. I rolled out the second portion and used a cookie cutter to cut out some shapes which I left to rest on a tray covered. The third batch I rolled out very thin (because of my brother whining of one he ate at carnivals), about half a cm and fried it as the original, sprinkled powder sugar and ready to go. It was crispier and less hollow. NOW! the most amazing, take the cookie cutted dough and fry those till golden brown (I did save it last to give it time to rise a bit about 30 mins), glazed, and powdered some. Instantly The most amazing doughnuts!! Better than Timhortons! Wasn't even looking for a doughnut recipe. My hubby loved them. Everything disappeared instantly. Highly recommended dough recipe over other. This is a sure keeper! I also tried with plain all-purpose flour for a wonderful lighter fluffier texture. Best eatten hot/warm! Note: I fried everything at 300-325 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Grand-daughter & I are making them again tonight. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
O.M.G. - I am from Albany, NY, and every year we would go to the Capital for the 4th of July e fireworks and would *always* get fried dough. Now that I live in Utah, you absolutely cannot get this *anywhere*. No one has ever heard of it. I found this recipe and tried today (July 4th) for the first time. My husband and kids were AMAZED. We all ate at least 4 pieces, covered in cinnamon and sugar and we all agreed it was BETTER than what you get from the 4th of July vendors. My one change was this: we shaped the dough as the recipe said and found it was too thick to cook properly, so we shaped it into ovals and then smooshed it out with our hands until the pieces looked more like thick tortillas and they cooked up *perfectly*. It has instantly become our new go-to 4th of July tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ampurdy77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
WOW! Better than those in Ottawa at the Farmer's Market. Now We can have them anytime we want. So deliscious and addictive. The kids wanted a sweet treat so we decided to whip these up for desert. They gobbled them up .Making them again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Love these pastries! Haven't made your recipe yet but can hardly wait! I'm a fan of the butter and cinnamon topping. Just a quick question. Have you ever frozen the remaining dough and then defrosted and made the "tail" at a later date? I gave you 5 stars as I know this is going to be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States