The World's Greatest Crab Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. The Hubster went nuts over this recipe. He thinks everything should be grilled or smoked and this recipe proved that crablegs on the grill ROCK! I will never steam them again. When I read a 1/2 cup of minced garlic, I jumped up and down with glee...any recipe calling for a 1/2 cup of garlic, we are gonna make it for sure! The only thing I would add to this recipe is two ingredients and 1 step. PRECRACK the crablegs so the marinade can get in easier. (I actually broke the big joints and slid a scissors down the back without tearing the meat). Then I added LEMON JUICE and OLD BAY to the marinade...I can't help it, it's the way I'm made. This recipe would have been a 5 anyway, but my additions created mouth-magic! Thanks a ton, Dreamthief! PS...THE GRILL IS GONNA FLAME UP BIGTIME! Be careful, have a lid ready, and enough water to knock the flame back, you dont want to burn them! If you use King Crablegs, remember they are larger and will take longer on the grill. I cooked my snowcrab legs for 4 minutes on each side after knocking the flame back; they were heated thru. MAKE SURE THEY ARE COMPLETELY DEFROSTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I did these in the oven instead of on the grill and the flavor was fantastic! I cannot wait to fire up the grill to try them that way, too. I put them on a sheet pan in the oven at 350 for 4 minutes on each side, then under the broiler on high for 5 minutes. We ate them as soon as they came out--they didn't even make it to a plate! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Wow! This definitely is one of the "World's Greatest Crab Recipes"! If you love crab then you really have to give this recipe a try. I added some beer for good measure - there's no shortage of it in this house and when it comes to grilling just about everything tastes better with beer! I pre-cracked the crab legs and let the thawed legs marinate in this for about an hour before grilling. These don't take long so do watch carefully. Just baste away on the grill and before you know it your taste buds will be in heaven! All this needed was some drawn butter and of course a cold beer for my husband and a nice glass of wine for me - YUM! Thanks Dreamthief for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Somebody better warn the crabs!! Bar none this is absolutely THE BEST crab recipe I've ever had. I grew up on the Cheasapeake Bay, so that's saying something. So easy you have time to bow to the applause. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This recipe deserves much more than 5 stars! It is out of this world delicious and so easy. It was nice to make crab without steaming up the kitchen. The easy cleanup is a major bonus, as well. If you like crab legs you must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This recipe was better than any buffet or fine service I've ever had. Not only was there almost zero prep time, using the grill meant clean up was a breeze. The taste was outstanding and I didn't even really need butter on the side. A bit messy on the hands but in a wonderful finger licking way. The crab snapped with perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
My husband could eat all 4 lbs by himself and still want more! I only made one change and added some Old Bay Seasoning. Due to storms I ended up doing these in the oven and they were excellent! 350 4 minutes on each side, brushing with the mixture each time. Then 5 minutes on HIGH broil and added the Old Bay. YUMMY!!!! They were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Nance Mealer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Deliciousness! Did add 1/2 cup beer and a pinch white pepper. You could really taste the crab as the sauce complimented but did not overpower. We had lots more crab than 4 lbs so the extra liquid from the beer helped without having to double the butter and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I feel like I MUST have done something wrong. I cut the crab in half, boiled it, applied the buttery batter, but it didn't seem like much of the butter flavor was absorbed in the crab. Not sure what I did wrong as I followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. It smelled like it was going to be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I had never cooked crabs before and this was a really easy recipe to follow. I made them in the oven and they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickaella Litman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States