The World's Greatest Crab Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
AMAZING! We actually injected the crab with the mixture.......we will NEVER eat it any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Melloy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. The Hubster went nuts over this recipe. He thinks everything should be grilled or smoked and this recipe proved that crablegs on the grill ROCK! I will never steam them again. When I read a 1/2 cup of minced garlic, I jumped up and down with glee...any recipe calling for a 1/2 cup of garlic, we are gonna make it for sure! The only thing I would add to this recipe is two ingredients and 1 step. PRECRACK the crablegs so the marinade can get in easier. (I actually broke the big joints and slid a scissors down the back without tearing the meat). Then I added LEMON JUICE and OLD BAY to the marinade...I can't help it, it's the way I'm made. This recipe would have been a 5 anyway, but my additions created mouth-magic! Thanks a ton, Dreamthief! PS...THE GRILL IS GONNA FLAME UP BIGTIME! Be careful, have a lid ready, and enough water to knock the flame back, you dont want to burn them! If you use King Crablegs, remember they are larger and will take longer on the grill. I cooked my snowcrab legs for 4 minutes on each side after knocking the flame back; they were heated thru. MAKE SURE THEY ARE COMPLETELY DEFROSTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is an awesome recipe. The only change needed is too not have the grill so high. I chose to have these for my birthday dinner instead of going out. These taste better than I would get at a restaurant. A small tip would be to put the crab in a covered pan with aluminum foil in the oven on warm. Take what you need and get a warm one when you are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
My husband could eat all 4 lbs by himself and still want more! I only made one change and added some Old Bay Seasoning. Due to storms I ended up doing these in the oven and they were excellent! 350 4 minutes on each side, brushing with the mixture each time. Then 5 minutes on HIGH broil and added the Old Bay. YUMMY!!!! They were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Nance Mealer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Deliciousness! Did add 1/2 cup beer and a pinch white pepper. You could really taste the crab as the sauce complimented but did not overpower. We had lots more crab than 4 lbs so the extra liquid from the beer helped without having to double the butter and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These are awesome! I had frozen pre cooked crab legs from the grocery store and I followed the recipe exactly. I admit that I didn't think the olive oil/butter mixture was going to penetrate to the crab meat very well but it did. When I basted the legs the oil caused some flames that created this great smoky flavor that combined very nicely with the butter and garlic flavor. The flavor was so great that we practically didn't even need the butter. My family could not get enough! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very good, but not good enough to facilitate the arrogant headline, nor the description. Added several things, to suit my own tastes. Lemon juice, Old Bay, Cayenne pepper and sea salt/fresh ground black pepper. Served with Porterhouses(with my own secret marinade), roasted red potatoes, garlic buttered asparagus and roasted vidalia onions, everything prepared on the grill. The only substitute I would make is to exchange the vidalias for fresh ramps, but they're not yet growing in the backyard. Soon enough! the grill doesn't infuse the seasoned flavor as it does in the stewpot....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summersville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was amazing. Just as the recipe stated...it is hands down the best way to prepare crab. It was so flavorful and juicy not to mention how simple and easy it was to do. This recipe is a repeat for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I had never cooked crabs before and this was a really easy recipe to follow. I made them in the oven and they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Make this one and look no further! I wish I could give this 10 stars! I was skeptical how this would work being that you're basting the crab with the shells intact but they were magnificent! I basted then closed the grill lid for 3-4 minutes...then flipped the crab, basted, and closed the lid again....the flavorings must steam inside the shell because they were amazing! Didn't even need the melted butter i had for dipping....i also squeezed some lemon. A little messy on the grill but my new grill daddy tool took care of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States