The World's Greatest Crab Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The only thing I loved about this recipe was the smokey flavor. The baste did not infuse into the crabmeat as I had hoped and cooking for six minutes the normally succulant crab meat was dried out. Very disappointed that $60 worth of crabmeat was ruined. Try this recipe at your own risk! We will definately be going back to our delicious steamed crab in a couple months when we can afford it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I feel like I MUST have done something wrong. I cut the crab in half, boiled it, applied the buttery batter, but it didn't seem like much of the butter flavor was absorbed in the crab. Not sure what I did wrong as I followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. It smelled like it was going to be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I loved this!! I added my own twist to it, but in general kept it somewhat the same. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany
Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Oh my word! This was absolutely fantastic. We used this for King Crab Legs and it was out of this world. Truly the best crab we have ever had. We did add Old Bay but that's it. Unbelievable! Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Wow! This definitely is one of the "World's Greatest Crab Recipes"! If you love crab then you really have to give this recipe a try. I added some beer for good measure - there's no shortage of it in this house and when it comes to grilling just about everything tastes better with beer! I pre-cracked the crab legs and let the thawed legs marinate in this for about an hour before grilling. These don't take long so do watch carefully. Just baste away on the grill and before you know it your taste buds will be in heaven! All this needed was some drawn butter and of course a cold beer for my husband and a nice glass of wine for me - YUM! Thanks Dreamthief for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This recipe was very good! I added a little bit of lime juice and some old bay seasoning and a tad of allspice!! It tasted just like I was in the Carribean!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Cove, New York, USA
Living In: Wheatley Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I agree - this is the best! We had this tonight for our "Annual Deadliest Catch Season Premier Crab Feast" (really!!) Messy but what the heck, it was Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is outright fantastic! I discovered this recipe a few weeks ago and made my husband remove the mountain of snow from the grill. Well worth (him) standing out in the cold to make this! This recipe will contend with our summer-time favorite, "Dave’s low country boil," which is another 5-star recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
AMAZING! We actually injected the crab with the mixture.......we will NEVER eat it any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Melloy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. The Hubster went nuts over this recipe. He thinks everything should be grilled or smoked and this recipe proved that crablegs on the grill ROCK! I will never steam them again. When I read a 1/2 cup of minced garlic, I jumped up and down with glee...any recipe calling for a 1/2 cup of garlic, we are gonna make it for sure! The only thing I would add to this recipe is two ingredients and 1 step. PRECRACK the crablegs so the marinade can get in easier. (I actually broke the big joints and slid a scissors down the back without tearing the meat). Then I added LEMON JUICE and OLD BAY to the marinade...I can't help it, it's the way I'm made. This recipe would have been a 5 anyway, but my additions created mouth-magic! Thanks a ton, Dreamthief! PS...THE GRILL IS GONNA FLAME UP BIGTIME! Be careful, have a lid ready, and enough water to knock the flame back, you dont want to burn them! If you use King Crablegs, remember they are larger and will take longer on the grill. I cooked my snowcrab legs for 4 minutes on each side after knocking the flame back; they were heated thru. MAKE SURE THEY ARE COMPLETELY DEFROSTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States