The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
QUESTION PLEASE: as somebody else inquired, do we cut slits in the bag, per instructions on the box of cooking bags? The recipe doesn't say. Thank you for responding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
392 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I have made this for thanksgiving two years in a row and everyove raved about it! It comes out unbelievably juicy and simply delicious! I cubed two apples and stuffed the cavity to have enough to serve with the turkey. I also took the turkey out of the roasting bag about 2/3 of cooking time to prevent the skin from sticking to the bag and basted every twenty minutes after that until it was brown and crispy. I highly recommend this recipe!!! The flavor is amazing and it's so easy to prepare! The apples and the champagne really follow through in this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This Thanksgiving will be the 3rd year I've used this recipe - the last 2 years it has turned out PERFECT!! Since we usually have between 10 and 16 people for Thanksgiving, we use a turkey that is at least 25 lbs - even with the larger turkey you can't go wrong with this recipe! You do need to check it before the end of the cooking time listed, some ovens tend to cook faster than others (like mine!) so you want to make sure you don't over-cook it. And definitely make sure you flour your bag before putting the turkey in. The drippings make an awesome gravy and has been a HUGE hit, one of our guests hates gravy, but when I make this turkey and the subsequent gravy, he can't get enough! I'm looking forward to making this again this year, we're having more guests this year than the last 2, and they're looking forward to having this awesome turkey! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyUncorked

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Loved this recipe-just one question: were we supposed to make "slits" in the oven bag prior to cooking? I would really appreciate it if someone would respond to this question. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
FABULOUS recipe! And super easy to make too. A caution when using the oven bag. I forgot to read those instructions and you need to add flour to the bottom of the bag so it doesn't burst. I found that out later on and ended up switching bags before I put the turkey in the oven. The turkey was very moist and I added some chicken boulleon to the broth after it was done cooking so I could make gravy that tasted less sweet. I highly recommend this recipe, or the homestyle turkey- michagander way on this website. I've only made 2 turkeys in my life and these turned out better than ones family members have made for years (shh don't tell) Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
My first Thanksgiving turkey and it turned out perfect. Had a bit of trouble figuring out how to remove the neck (was reaching for the hammer when my boyfriend took over), but prepping the bird couldn't have been easier. Season it, squish some butter under the skin and then pour champagne on, in and under the bird's skin, tie close the bag and toss it in the oven. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to cook my 12-pound bird at 275 for 2.5 hours, removing it from the bag and then returning to the oven for another 45mins to brown the skin. Let it sit for another 20 mins before carving and it was amazing. Everyone raved about how moist and delicious it was. Thanks Sarah for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN-Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This was fantastic! I used half a red onion and half an apple on the inside, and we used sparkling apple juice instead of champagne (cheaper). The only issue was we did not buy a thermometer, and it didn't cook all the way through in the time allotted. It might be because this was a free range ornagic one, but who knows. We laughed, tossed it back in, and when it came out it was insanely juicy and absolutly amazing. This was the first turkey I have ever cooked, and now my family swears that they won't be using any other recipes now, it was so good. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I used this recipe to make a 20lb turkey. It took 2 1/2 hrs. at 350 degrees. Inside I added 1/2 an onion and cinnamon. This really added to the flavor of the meat and gravy. Also I put butter betwen the skin, and on the outside I added butter, tyme, sage, and marjoram. This made some tasty skin. My family loved the gravy and moist turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
All I have to say is WOW!!!! So perfect and truly THE WORLD'S BEST TURKEY!!!! FOR THE USERS THAT KEEP ASKING : Yes make sure you cut slits in the roasting bag and make sure you flour the bag too or the skin will stick. My turkey was completly wiped off the table and there were only six of us! All gone...I also used the drippings and sauce for gravy and I used the gravy recipe from "Easy Turkey Gravy" and they both combined excellent! This was the first time i made turkey and now I have enough confidence to make Thanksgiving Dinner. TIP: FIRST MAKE THE TURKEY BREAST SIDE DOWN AND IT WILL BE REALLY JUICY. I flipped it back up to the other side the last hour and removed the bag so it could brown. I basted it with melted butter every 20 minutes until it was ready. If you are making your first turkey this is the recipe for you. Thank you for posting this recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel
Living In: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Just finished Thanksgiving Dinner using this recipe it was the best turkey I have ever made!! I used Sparkling Apple Cider instead of Champagne just because I wasn't sure how the recipe was going to turn out but WOW everyone raved over it and how juicy it was. I stuffed the bird with apples and stuffing (it was a 24 pound bird) The stuffing and the gravy made from the juices both turned out spectacular. Thanks for a great recipe!! I will definitely use it for Christmas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intent

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States