The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was the best turkey my family has ever had! I added pears as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
My husband and I do not drink so when I saw "champagne", I was a little hesitant to try this recipe. This was only my second time to ever prepare a Thanksgiving turkey on my own. I couldn't be more happy that I tried this recipe. Since I only have two of us to cook for, I had to alter the recipe just a teeny. We used a 7lb bone-in turkey breast, and a whole onion (I didn't have any apples)-other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. This is by far the way to go when preparing a turkey. You just put everything in the roasting bag, put it all in the oven, and walk away. The turkey was falling off the bone and was the juiciest turkey breast we have ever had. Don't worry if you are not a champagne aficionado. The meat does not retain any of the true champagne flavor and the drippings make a fantastic gravy! The gravy is hearty and full of flavor and has an added tang that is unexpectedly good. I will no longer go to the trouble of preparing turkey in the traditional manner. This recipe is an absolute keeper! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I cooked for 12 people for an early Thanksgiving. I used this recipe but had a 20 lb. turkey. I doubled the apples but the rest was the same. I let it sit on the warm stove top in the bag for at least an hour to reabsorb juices. This turned out excellent and so juicy. My brother-in-law, an avid chef took home the recipe to make for Thanksgiving day. Everyone loved this!! I will always make my turkey this way. Just make sure you give your turkey time to rest in the bag before cutting. Also, turkey baked in cooking bags tends to cook much faster. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I used this recipe the first time I ever cooked a turkey. It is unbelievably juicy and I now use it every year. I also inject my turkey with garlic infused olive oil and this also does WONDERS, but the champagne just gives it a rich flavor. For those of you who have asked, DO NOT CUT THE BAG!!!!!!! I do open the bag about every 45 minutes and baste the turkey (and to avoid the top from sticking to the bag). I also open it to use the turkey juices to make my stuffing and gravy. I also will brown/roast the top by opening the bag/uncovering the top of the turkey when it's almost done. If that doesn't work, then cut it open so you expose the breasts (that sounds so wrong, lol!) to get a perfectly browned turkey, but only do that at the very end, towards the last 15 minutes. Anyway, this is an awesome recipe - please try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is the best turkey I have ever made (I've made it about 10 times). It has turned out moist and delicious every time and each time I'm invited to a family gathering I'm asked to provide the turkey (that's the only drawback I've seen to this recipe)! I've only seen a few people have problems and here is how to avoid them. First check the temperature of your oven with a thermometer before putting the turkey in - just because the dial says a certain temp doesn't mean your oven agrees. Also make sure you brine your turkey the day before (look for recipes here to do so - it makes a big difference). You also need to make sure the butter is properly distributed in pats under the skin. Always make sure you adjust the amount of the ingredients for the size of the turkey! Some people prefer to add a little less champagne so the gravy isn't affected as much. Lastly I would imagine that some of the people having trouble with dryness might have used a frozen turkey and didn't allow ample time to thaw and they probably didn't brine it which is the secret to increible, moist, turkey. Another tip for Thanksgiving - try making a Pumpkin Marble Cheesecake - easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Hands down this is the best and easiest turkey recipe ever!!! it was crispy on the outside and moist inside. My family and friends love it!! I have made this 3 years in a row. It puts other turkeys to shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe makes a fantastic turkey! I happen to work for a restaurant company and was blessed enough to have one of our chefs help me through the turkey baking process. We baked a pre-bird to test the recipe (this was my first time cooking turkey). We followed the recipe making only a few modifications as suggested by some of the reviewers (white wine instead of champagne, adding a red onion, etc.). Not only was it easy, it was absolutely delicious! I've never had a juicier bird. I will be making this for Thanksgiving this year and look forward to showing my family what a turkey SHOULD taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I wanted to know what type of Champagne everyone used? Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I had never cooked a turkey in my life and chose this recipe for last Thanksgiving. It was delicious! Very very juicy and flavorful. For Christmas I tried a different recipe and regretted it after the first bit. This holiday season, I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I had 12 guests over for Thanksgiving two years ago and used this recipe. Everyone loved it and now for every family function where turkey is served I am required to make this. One thing i do differently is put stuffing inside the turkey instead of the apple. The champagne doesn't alter the stuffing flavor at all. The turkey does take a little bit longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States