The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This turkey was the most moist turkey I have ever had. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I did cut slits in my bag per the instructions on the oven bag. I also added some onions to go alongside the apples stuffed inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
followed recipe for our 13 lb Xmas dinner bird.. a hint of boiled chicken more than Turkey was the outcome. will stick to the roasted method [ no bag] next time and save the Champagne for consumption with the bird .. It cooked much faster than recipe indicated 2hrs so as suggested in other reviews 275degrees would be a better choice perhaps . Gravy was Ok but no one raved about it .. Will not repeat this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
For my first Turkey ever I used this recipe & tweaked it just a bit and all I can say is WOW!! I have never had such a flavorful or moist turkey. I stuffed the turkey with apples, onions, tangerines & carrots with a ton of cinnamon both in the cavity and under the skin. Per a suggestion I saw on another recipe I covered the turkey in slices of bacon to help seal in the moisture & season the drippings. I cooked my 12 lb turkey in a bag & put slits in it as per the directions & it was done in exactly 4 hours. While moving the leg to the side to get a good temp reading with my thermometer the bone literally came off in my hand! The turkey was so tender & the drippings made a fabulous gravy by adding sour cream and flour. My family raved throughout dinner about how the turkey turned out. Who knew champagne would do the trick?! I'd highly recommend trying this recipe & can't wait for Xmas dinner at my place again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was NOT the best turkey I've ever had nor did it come out moist. I will stick with my regular method. The turkey had no flavor of the items inside. I usually cook mine in a bag with fresh herbs under the skin. I will do that next year. Thankfully, the stuffing was the best I've ever made! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
It was easy to make and really tender. I recommended to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia B
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
It was just ok, very moist, but not outstanding. I wanted a turkey that would knock your sock off, so I will continue looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I have made this recipe for the last 5 years. I have perfected it over the years. First I brine the turkey for a day before using Apple brine for the turkey the night before also found on this site. I then inject the bird with a whole bottle of Tony Chacheres Creol butter injection. I mixed in 2 tbls chopped garlic with the butter before I put it under the skin. I use one apple and red onion sliced in the cavity. I also put the turkey breast side down for half of the cooking time and then flip in over for 1/4 of the time. The remaining quarter I remove the turkey from the bag to allow the skin to brown. I also leave the turkey in the oven for an hour after its done to cool. I use a Brut champagne and I use the whole bottle for an 18-22 pound turkey. This makes the best juiciest turkey every time. I do not flour the bag or cut slits in it. I only baste the last 30 minutes of cooking. The juices make wonderful gravy and also stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Snelling, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I hosted my first Thanksgiving this year and it was an absolute success! My dad is still talking about how moist the turkey was! As some other users have posted, I was concerned whether or not to cut holes in the baking bag. I cut holes to remain onthe safe side and everything worked out well. The bag did stick to the skin of the turkey a little bit but was easily pulled off. I reccomend this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this recipe for thanksgiving this year and my husband took one bite and said it was the best turkey he's ever had in his life! It was so moist and juicy, it just fell off the bone. Thanks for the great recipe! I will definitely be using this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was my first time making the turkey for Thanksgiving, and my entire family was impressed. I did follow the directions on the ovenbag box to add flour to the bag before placing the turkey and also cutting a few slits on the top before baking. I used the entire bottle of champagne, at the time I thought it was too much, but it was just right - had plenty of drippings to make the gravy. I did add a bouillon cube to the gravy to counter some of the sweetness from the champagne. Also following some suggestions from other reviews I added a cut up red onion to the inside and an extra apple (mine was a 20lb turkey). After about 2 hours in the oven I cut up the top of the bag so the skin would get nice and crispy. It took about 3 hours to cook and after letting it rest for about 30 minutes the meat was falling off the bones. I'll definitely be making this again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JsBride

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States