The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I followed the recipe to the T (except added some herbs for flavor) and would have to say that this turkey came out ok. It is good if you are used to dry turkey at Thanksgiving (who hasn't experienced a few too many of those?) but was not the best turkey I've had. The parts of the bird that weren't submerged in champagne/juices actually turned out pretty dry (did 3.5hrs for 12.5lbs of bird) but the parts that were submerged were pretty juicy. If I didn't add some herbs I think I would have thought it was bland, as some others have mentioned. Overall this was a decent recipe, but not "the one" I want to use to wow family in November. I'll keep hunting though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This IS THE WORLD"S BEST TURKEY! I made a different more complicated recipe last year that also included champagne, but it did not even compare to the juiciness and deliciousness of this turkey. Even the leftovers reheated in the microwave were moist! In answer to Andy's question, I did slit holes in the cooking bag per the directions on the box. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Made this for an intimate gathering of friends. Turkey was super moist (I may have used more champagne than was called for) but the flavor of the bird was nice as well. The white meat was so moist I would even eat it (I'm a dark meat lover). Served it with Harvest Rice Dish (also on the site) and soaked the cranberries in champagne as well. The dishes paired nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I used this with two roaster chickens after new years celebration with the left over champagne. This was a meal we were able to used left overs for a week! Good recipe but may have been too greasy for chicken. I do want to make this again but with turkey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Definitely the best turkey and very moist. Additionally I had brined the trukey overnight and rinsed very well before preparing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this turkey for new years, and was very excited based on the reviews..but I have to say I was disappointed with the flavor, I found it quite taste less.. a little garlicky but thats it. It did remind me a litle of boiled chicken. It was faily moist, and did fall off the bones, but I think I prefer more herbs. Will not make again, although I did enjoy the extra champagne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Scaled it for a 20lb turkey and it was good. The gravy was outstanding. It did cook quicker in the bag with slits.(only 4 hours and it was already done at meat temp @200.) A little over done but what a great 1st try. Did cook it breast side down too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have made this turkey for several years. To answer the questions about slits in the bag - I don't. But, I have never seen those instructions on my bags (I use Reynolds brand). Just dust the inside of the bag with flour. My family cannot get enough of the gravy made with these drippings. And the bonus is that I get to have a mimosa on Thanksgiving morning, after the bird goes into the oven (with what's left of the champagne).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
First time I tried this, I cooked it wayyy to long. I did a 20lb turkey for 4hrs. The second time I did the correct cooking time and the turkey ended up being so moist and delicious. I got rave reviews for my Christmas Dinner. Will use this recipe for years to come...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
most amazing turkey ive ever made everyone thourghly enjoyed this and had almost none left over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arielrain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kellyville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States