The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
yes, this might be the world's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I did this way different. I always start my turkey upside down (most of the fat is in the lower part of the bird) Half way through I flip it over (not easy, but worth it). I also stuff the cavity with apples, oranges and dried apricots wrapped in cheesecloth. That bottle of bubble gets split into 4 applications, 2 before flipping and 2 after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I make this turkey, following the recipe, every year for Thanksgiving and it is a huge hit with my family. Everything turns out moist and delicious! Also I recommend the recipe to beginner cooks because I am not very skilled but was able to pull this recipe off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
QUESTION: Can you still stuff the turkey even though the apples are inside?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I followed the recipe to the T (except added some herbs for flavor) and would have to say that this turkey came out ok. It is good if you are used to dry turkey at Thanksgiving (who hasn't experienced a few too many of those?) but was not the best turkey I've had. The parts of the bird that weren't submerged in champagne/juices actually turned out pretty dry (did 3.5hrs for 12.5lbs of bird) but the parts that were submerged were pretty juicy. If I didn't add some herbs I think I would have thought it was bland, as some others have mentioned. Overall this was a decent recipe, but not "the one" I want to use to wow family in November. I'll keep hunting though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This IS THE WORLD"S BEST TURKEY! I made a different more complicated recipe last year that also included champagne, but it did not even compare to the juiciness and deliciousness of this turkey. Even the leftovers reheated in the microwave were moist! In answer to Andy's question, I did slit holes in the cooking bag per the directions on the box. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Made this for an intimate gathering of friends. Turkey was super moist (I may have used more champagne than was called for) but the flavor of the bird was nice as well. The white meat was so moist I would even eat it (I'm a dark meat lover). Served it with Harvest Rice Dish (also on the site) and soaked the cranberries in champagne as well. The dishes paired nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I used this with two roaster chickens after new years celebration with the left over champagne. This was a meal we were able to used left overs for a week! Good recipe but may have been too greasy for chicken. I do want to make this again but with turkey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Definitely the best turkey and very moist. Additionally I had brined the trukey overnight and rinsed very well before preparing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this turkey for new years, and was very excited based on the reviews..but I have to say I was disappointed with the flavor, I found it quite taste less.. a little garlicky but thats it. It did remind me a litle of boiled chicken. It was faily moist, and did fall off the bones, but I think I prefer more herbs. Will not make again, although I did enjoy the extra champagne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States