The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This turkey came out very moist and flavorful. I added a few cloves of garlic, rosemary, tarragon, and sage to the cavity, and also added sliced onion and celery to the bag. The drippings made great gravy, and cleanup was so easy from cooking the turkey in the bag. To answer other questions about this recipe, I cut slits in the bag just as instructed on the box, and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dubaubel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe was great! I was concerned using champagne with kids eating it that the taste of the champagne would come through to much. But to my delight it didn't. I used Asti which is sweeter and paired nicely with the apples. It also made an amazing gravy to go with the turkey. If you are looking for an easy amazing turkey recipe you have just found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
loved this recipe very easy and i followed the recipe like it said the turkey came out juicy and my guess loved it .i would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
It was surprisingly easy to make! I followed the roasting bag instructions. Also I coated the apples with cinnamon prior stuffing into the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I will never make turkey any other way, and that includes the deep fryer sitting outside. This was the most tender, juiciest turkey I have ever made. My daughter said, "You know I don't really like turkey but this is so good!". My son said, "This turkey isn't dry at all!!!!". My son mentioned it again the next day while making his sandwich with leftovers. I've worked for decades to make a juicy turkey. This is it. I did not waver from the instructions other than I had to cut up the apples some to fit in the cavity. I used the cheapest champagne I could find on the shelves. I did NOT cut slits in the bag as the recipe didn't say to do so. It was fine. Thank you thank you thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have used this recipe every year since I first found it. I do rub herbed butter under the turkey skin on the breast meat, and I stuff the cavity with herbs and oranges in addition to the apples. I also buy the cheapest champagne I can find, the high sugar content seems to caramelize nicely on the turkey skin. We always have a fairly large bird, at least 22 pounds, so the cooking time and temperature work fine for me. While I am busy making everything else, this turkey just cooks itself and turns out fabulous. The pan drippings make a very tasty gravy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This will be my 1st Turkey to cook..just wondering about the meat thermometer....how do you read it if it's in the bag?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I used this recipe 4 years ago and every year since. I am asked by everyone to make it as it is their favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This makes a wonderful turkey. Take the time to really put butter under the skin of the whole turkey. Also, microwave half a white onion, 1 apple cut in half, a cup of water, and two cinnamon sticks for a few minutes. Put all except the water in the cavity. Will pump this recipe up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I have used this recipe now twice, both time it turned out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States