The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe did not work for me! Granted, this was easy to do but it didn't brown correctly in the bag. It produced so much juice that the turkey starts boiling instead of roasting. I had to cut open the bag and siphon the juice out. I then had to get my 2-toned turked to even out. I won't be doing it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The apples and champagne didn't really make a difference in the taste of the turkey, and it was't very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeMorrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I haven't used this recipe, but I do think if you don't puts slits in the cooking bag, you could probably expect some sort of Thanksgiving explosion in your oven. I would follow the instructions on the box of bags regarding slits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Some people asked about poking holes in the bag. I have never done it this way; it seems to me that a lot of the steaming/poaching would be lost and thus, moisture as well. It looks in the oven like the bag is going to explode; it puffs up enormously! But it's never exploded in our kitchen and the turkey comes out moist and tasty :) HTH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Easy, not dry and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYBEND

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I LOVE this recipe, I used it two years ago at Thanksgiving when I made my first turkey for my in-laws. The bird literally fell apart, it was so moist, everyone loved it and I was able to make a ton of gravy from the drippings. I used it again last christmas and I'll be using it this year too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
i found that adding some apple sauce under the skin with the butter gave it a really good applewood sort of taste, the recipe itself turned out great, I have made this recipe 3 years running and will again make it this year. tip use sweet unsalted butter not margerin,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I tried this recipe 2 years ago and it is a Thanksgiving staple now. Very easy and the white meat turns out perfect. If this is your first time cooking a turkey, this is the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
QUESTION PLEASE: as somebody else inquired, do we cut slits in the bag, per instructions on the box of cooking bags? The recipe doesn't say. Thank you for responding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
413 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States