The Wessel Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I have made this cake so many times now, it is a real favourite in our house. Never had a problem with the recipe. It's like a giant macaroon chewy on the outside, squishy in the middle. The icing is fantastic, i have used it on other cakes it goes especially well with a rich chocolate cake. I found using an orange syrup is also nice as an alternative to the icing if you've no chocolate in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Fabulous cake, and a nice, very chocolatey, butter cream frosting. Next time, I will make a 1" indentation around the outside edge, since the center fell, and then I won't have the sunken look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Havent made this recipe, but looking at it, I strongly suspect he put the amount of powdered sugar wrong. I bet with a larger amount of powdered sugar, it would work better. Probably the cake also needs to be cooled completely before frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
A very rich cake, almost too rich. It was good but not to die for. I'm not sure I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Well, I guess this 100 year old secret family recipe is still remaining a secret. I'm still trying to figure where the "mousse-like" creme topping went. I'm not a novice cook or baker by any means, yet my thirteen year old daughter and I went over the directions several times to see where we may have gone wrong. The topping was nothing more than thickened melted chocolate. Was the butter supposed to be right from the fridge and not room temp? Was there supposed to be beaten egg white in the topping? Anyway, the kids thought it was acceptable, however, hubby and I thought it was way too sweet for our taste. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
I tried making this twice & it was a flop. It may have helped if I knew what it was supposed to look/taste like. The "cake" was good, but stuck to the pan & it deflated quickly. The topping wasn't like a mousse that the description stated. Would like to know what went wrong, or is missing. I did cut recipe in half using a 5" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Something must be missing! I made the cake as instructed, was high like a souffle when I took it out of the oven, immediately fell to less than half, mousse-like topping was only melted chocolate, etc. Not what it was stated to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Tasted O.K. but looked unappealing, won't try this again anytime soon. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

How to Frost a Cake

See simple steps to frost a cake like a professional baker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States