The Way to a Man's Heart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Made this recipe several times. I generally use a baking pan instead of ramekins, and I'll add shrimp or other shellfish to it also. It's always a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I made this for a dinner party of 10 using the prepare ahead suggestions that Amber posted in her review. Being able to make individual servings made it easy to serve and gave it a classy touch. I did add 1 lb medimum shrimp, grated parmesan and used shallots instead of onion because they have a tamer flavor. Seasoned the sauce with 1/2 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning which does a fantastic job of enhancing the flavors of the seafood. Most everyone loved it, though it is a bit expensive to make for a very large gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I used this recipe for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. This is definitely not for everday consumption but is great when you need a "fancy" dinner. I did make a lot of extra sauce so it covered the fish in the ramikins and then completely covered them in crab and cheese. The ramikins are great for a dinner party because each person gets an individual serving, a nice touch. I made this early in the day then put them in the fridge. Then before dinner, put on the cheese and browned while everyone had cocktails. Very little work during the actual party. A couple people thought the overall taste was a little like lobster. I am going to try next with monkfish. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was indeed, very rich. I cut the recipe in half & cooked it in two large ramekins, figuring since we weren't having an appetizer w/ it that we would want bigger portions. Not so. Smaller portions would have been perfect although next time I do think that I will serve a pureed vegetable soup as a first course. I used tilapia instead of halibut, shallots instead of onions, added a can of tiny shrimp (rinsed & drained) & used a jack/colby blend of cheese. Served it w/ pinot grigio (it's what I used w/ the tilapia too), Lemon Butter Snow Peas & a mixed greens salad w/ Lemon Chiffon Pudding for dessert. Thansk for the recipe Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Thought this was a great starting point, I made quite a few changes. I added bay scallops and tiger shrimp, and garlic. I also use portabella mushrooms instead of button and I used the whole can of milk with just a tab more flour. I had to use imitation crab which was just what was available at the time :( I also subbed grouper instead of halibut. overall I think it was great, I still feel like the first step is missing something, maybe I will add garlic to wine to give the seafood just a little more flavor. I will be making this again, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I felt that this recipe was just ok.. My boyfriend and I love cooking together so we thought we'd try this recipe out because we love seafood and the name of the recipe was cute. I think the fish at the bottom could have used a squeeze of lemon and a dash of salt.. It was bland. I wish the sauce was creamier, so that it would seep down through the layers.. It did not. Maybe too much flour? I really wanted to like this more. My boyfriend agreed it was just ok also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I added 1 clove of garlic w/the veggie mixture & used the whites of 4 green onions, & using the greens when layering. Added the cheese(about 1/2c) right into the sauce & a little Old Bay. Even after that, the sauce did taste like it was missing something. However, once baked w/the fish(used flounder) & crab, it was fantastic! I do think the green onions helped too! Excellent! I do feel that this is more of an accompaniment to main dish, tho. Maybe a small steak? Idk, it just didn't feel like a main dish to me. I served it w/crusty bread, asparagus, & a baked potato. The potato just didn't go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This was excellent although alot of work. Only make this when you have the time for many steps. The fish market did not have halibut so I substituted scrod which was still wonderful. I also used one baking dish instead of individual dishes. The whole meal was delicious but very rich. I may use half the sauce next time to make a thinner layer over the fish to cut down on the richness of it. All in all a flavorful pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
I added small salad shrimp on top of the crabmeat. My husband was totally impressed. He said it was better than restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Very Very yummy, my 7 year old even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States