The Way to a Man's Heart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I cooked this dish for Valentine's Day for 8 couples including me and my husband. I added some extra seasoning since I am a CAJUN!! There wasn't even a spoonfull left. I absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAITCH
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I enjoyed this dish quite a bit, but the rest of my family could take it or leave it. I added a little "Old Bay with Garlic and Herb" seasoning to the sauce (and was glad I did, as it would have been a little bland without it), but the flavour of the red pepper was wonderful! I didn't have the full amount of crab, so I added some small cooked shrimp with it. I only used 1/4 cup white wine, and it was more than enough to cover the fish. I thought it was an elegant and delicious dish, and would proudly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was really good! Like some other reviewers suggested, I skipped the ramekins and just baked everything in a dish, and used more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I used this recipe for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. This is definitely not for everday consumption but is great when you need a "fancy" dinner. I did make a lot of extra sauce so it covered the fish in the ramikins and then completely covered them in crab and cheese. The ramikins are great for a dinner party because each person gets an individual serving, a nice touch. I made this early in the day then put them in the fridge. Then before dinner, put on the cheese and browned while everyone had cocktails. Very little work during the actual party. A couple people thought the overall taste was a little like lobster. I am going to try next with monkfish. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Changed it a bit, added garlic to the onions etc and used 3/4 c of cheese. How yummy! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
This was tasty, I added 3/4 of the cheese plus 1/4 tsp cayenne and a bit more salt to the sauce, and then scattered the other 1/4 cheese on the top, also made as one larger casserole instead of individual ramkins. Good recipe for people who don't like their seafood to taste too "fishy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This recipe is awesome. I've made it a number of times. Always a hit. I suggest using a wine that you enjoy drinking. I can't ever find fresh halibut so I've always used talipia. I do use more crabmeat and more cheese as someone else suggested. The sauce is rich, but it's worth the work. Thanks, Carolyn, for a delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly (unusual for me!) and thought this recipe was just ok. I usually love cooking with wine, but thought in this case, the fish ended up with too strong a wine flavor. Also, the red pepper in the sauce kind of overpowered any other flavor. I might try this recipe again, making a few adjustments - might cook fish in a garlic/olive oil mix, and reduce or eliminate the red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Absolutly delicious! Next time I will avoid the ramakins, and make larger preportions on the serving plate. (This seemed like an unneccesary step!)I will probably also add a few cloves of garlic just to put a little extra something into the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
We thought this was OK, but not great. I will try again adding garlic and a couple other modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States