The Way to a Man's Heart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa24
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Made this recipe for the first time. I used cod due to no halibut at store. Added minced garlic and shrimp. He went back for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanniuska
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I prepared it for the hubby but instead of Halibut I used Hake medallions, simply delicious,the combination was superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanniuska

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
awesome thanks so much for sharing have had this as a request from all friends when doing a party and many have the recipe to pass on you can interchange different seafood it always come's out excellent again thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe did not turn out for us at all. The sauce was bland and tasteless. It may have been the fish - we used filet of sole and it completely fell apart in the wine. Couldn't find fresh crab, so I used frozen. Overall bland and too heavy...no flavor. If I had managed to get fresh crab, it would've been ruined by this recipe - better to just eat the crab by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I'm sorry, this was very disappointing for us. I made it for a special occasion and spent a lot of time and money to get the best quality seafood available, but neither of us wanted to finish our portions. I won't be trying it again, I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
*FABULOUS* Recipe! I only added 1/2 tsp Old Bay Seasoning and used tilapia filets. I also used canned LUMP crab meat as the fresh crab was too expensive. (Be sure to rinse well with water first if you use the canned variety.) I think you could use just about any seafood combo and this would be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Envisage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was VERY rich. We liked it, but I will probably make it with regular milk instead of evaporated milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Very good, I went with another suggestion and added some salad shrimp in the mix and Yum! Will defenitaly make again. Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I felt that this recipe was just ok.. My boyfriend and I love cooking together so we thought we'd try this recipe out because we love seafood and the name of the recipe was cute. I think the fish at the bottom could have used a squeeze of lemon and a dash of salt.. It was bland. I wish the sauce was creamier, so that it would seep down through the layers.. It did not. Maybe too much flour? I really wanted to like this more. My boyfriend agreed it was just ok also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I added 1 clove of garlic w/the veggie mixture & used the whites of 4 green onions, & using the greens when layering. Added the cheese(about 1/2c) right into the sauce & a little Old Bay. Even after that, the sauce did taste like it was missing something. However, once baked w/the fish(used flounder) & crab, it was fantastic! I do think the green onions helped too! Excellent! I do feel that this is more of an accompaniment to main dish, tho. Maybe a small steak? Idk, it just didn't feel like a main dish to me. I served it w/crusty bread, asparagus, & a baked potato. The potato just didn't go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States