The Very Best Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I took hints from previous comments and eliminated the ricotta and used 1 tablespoon crushed dried red pepper flakes instead of the chili powder. I added ground white pepper and some ground sea salt to bring out the flavor. I used a food processor to blend ALL of the vegetables into a thick chunky paste and then sauteed the blend in the butter for about 15 minutes before adding the tomatoes. Lastly, because I wanted more of a bolognese, I sauteed 1 pound of very lean ground beef and added it to the sauce before simmering it on the stove for about six hours. The result was the absolutely most delicious spaghetti sauce I have ever made or enjoyed anywhere. I will admit that next time I will use a little less brown sugar although I do think it's an important ingredient that counterbalances the acidity of the tomato paste. This makes a lot so will be freezing the leftovers for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Lacked salt and the amount of tomato paste tended to give it somewhat of a bitter taste. Good base recipe, but would tweak it. Be careful if using a crockpot to be sure & check after 5-6 hours. Sauce may start to burn after 6 hours depending on your crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
GREAT sauce, until I ruined it by adding the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I too left out the Ricotta..and the brown sugar...Fabulous sauce, I will be making/freezing this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Matheny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This is sooooo tasty! Before reading any of the reviews, I chose to leave out the Ricotta as I was looking for a meatless tomato base, not a creamy base. I also added 2 grated carrots and a couple extra cloves of grated garlic. Also, I used canned/chopped tomatoes as I didn't have time to boil/skin/mash them and it turned out excellent. This is for sure a keeper! Add a nice ceasar salad and dinner is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Was looking for a good, chunky meatless pasta sauce and this was pretty good. After reading reviews, skipped the ricotta. I also added lots of fresh basil and a couple of diced carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very good! I left the ricotta cheese out and add that to the sauce on the noodles. It makes a lot; there are several containers in the freezer ready to reheat for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
very good but a little too chunky for the little ones! I put it in a blender to make it a little smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
this sauce is the top of my list I even past in to my daughter-in law whosaid it the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States