The Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This is an excellent cookie if you (as others have noted here) use 3/4 tsp baking soda and 3/4 tsp baking powder instead of solely baking soda. Is it the ultimate chocolate chip cookie? Pretty close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
my best ever chocolate chip cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
These were really great cookies! The first time I used the recipe exactly as written (except with Butter) and they didn't 'melt' in the oven and were a little crispy. Second time I used margarine instead of real butter, only used 3 cups of flour, and used half of the soda and replaced the other half with powder as someone suggested. The second time was a charm- they were perfect and had MANY requests for the recipe! The trick is getting them out of the oven at the perfect time and letting them cool COMPLETELY before trying to handle them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I was surprised that recipe called only for brown sugar. Usually, the cookies I make require both brown and white sugars. I forged ahead regardless and the cookie centers were mushy no matter how long they were baked for and they ended up like molasses cookies with chocolate chips. I spent all day making these as a gift for someone that I couldn't give. I followed the recipe to a T and was very disappointed with the outcome. Try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Since I got this recipe last March 2009, I baked this for more than 20 times. I have 7 kids,they really liked it.Thanks for a yummy cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Though I did not put eggs in mine (I am allergic) these turned out nice and crispy, and my sister looved them. She keeps bugging me to make more, so I must say they are a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BronwynsKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I made these for a bake sale and they were awesome! I was out of margargine so these were a great substitute. I omitted the walnuts and just loved how these cookies were so soft/chewy (baked for about 9 minutes). This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I could taste the baking soda. I hate that. So, I didn't have any eggs. I made the cookies anyway, and they were good. What do eggs provide? I did pick up some eggs. I divided the dough in half and added 1 egg to 1 half of the dough. I cooked 6 cookies. I found that the cookies without the eggs weren't flat in appearance. The cookies with the egg went flat. I felt that I could taste the baking soda more in the batch with egg, than the batch without. I may leave the egg out all the time! I won't make these cookies again. I will try making another recipe, only without the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is by FAR the GREATEST recipe !!!!! I used butter instead of the shortening and I used 1 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of baking soda. The cookies were wonderfully soft and had just the right amount of rise in them. I used half the batch with toffee brittle and used the other half with chocolate chips and white chocolate chips. The whole batch made about 60 tablespoon sized cookies. I FINALLY FOUND MY COOKIE DOUGH !!!! Thanks !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Flat? I don't know what y'all are talking about because mine just stayed in the same shape and did not "melt" into a shape of a cookie at all. They were kinda dry ,and did not seems to cook evenly ,however they did smell REALLY good and filled my house with that great cookie aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.& J Conkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States