The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It's not exactly bad, but I did hesitate to add vinegar and red wine. I will stick to my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It was not for my family at all. The red wine vinegar made the chili taste sweet. Oh well if I had not tried it I would never have known I don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Thought I'd experiment and try this in lieu of the chili recipe the family loves. Disappointing! No punch, and this is even after we added two of our own garden-grown dried chili peppers (which will usually save ANY recipe). Recipe was also done long before the time given for the slow cooker. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was great. Would cut the wine vinegar in half but this will be our "go to" chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I followed The basic recipe fairly closely. Even to adding the cornstarch and water for thickening however we did Add 1 teaspoon of cayenne,some additional Kosher salt, A can of Rotell diced, mild, tomatoes plus the two cans of stewed tomatoes; a tablespoon of additional cumin, an diced , browned onion, with a dash of LOVE! A great recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
1-1/2 TSP Chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
We loved this recipe! I made it exactly as described. My only change was substituting ground turkey for ground beef as we try to avoid red meat. I did not mash the stewed tomatoes as some suggested nor did I thicken it with cornstarch. It was perfect! We liked the seasonings & thought it had just enough heat. My husband raved about it! This is definitely a winner in our house. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is the only chili recipe my husband liked. He is Mexican, so he should know. I followed the recipe exactly accept I added onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckytuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
For anyone who does not use the wine in this recipe because of being unable to find an inexpensive bottle that tastes great, may I suggest BAREFOOT brand. I believe this wine is one of the best on the market, and it has several award winners, yet it is under $10. I was taught by a friend of mine that anyone can buy a great bottle of wine for over $50 but it takes talent to find a great bottle for $10. You will not be disappointed using and drinking this brand. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great basic recipe ... easy to alter, which I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Easter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States