The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It was not for my family at all. The red wine vinegar made the chili taste sweet. Oh well if I had not tried it I would never have known I don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Thought I'd experiment and try this in lieu of the chili recipe the family loves. Disappointing! No punch, and this is even after we added two of our own garden-grown dried chili peppers (which will usually save ANY recipe). Recipe was also done long before the time given for the slow cooker. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was great. Would cut the wine vinegar in half but this will be our "go to" chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I followed The basic recipe fairly closely. Even to adding the cornstarch and water for thickening however we did Add 1 teaspoon of cayenne,some additional Kosher salt, A can of Rotell diced, mild, tomatoes plus the two cans of stewed tomatoes; a tablespoon of additional cumin, an diced , browned onion, with a dash of LOVE! A great recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
1-1/2 TSP Chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
We loved this recipe! I made it exactly as described. My only change was substituting ground turkey for ground beef as we try to avoid red meat. I did not mash the stewed tomatoes as some suggested nor did I thicken it with cornstarch. It was perfect! We liked the seasonings & thought it had just enough heat. My husband raved about it! This is definitely a winner in our house. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is the only chili recipe my husband liked. He is Mexican, so he should know. I followed the recipe exactly accept I added onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckytuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
For anyone who does not use the wine in this recipe because of being unable to find an inexpensive bottle that tastes great, may I suggest BAREFOOT brand. I believe this wine is one of the best on the market, and it has several award winners, yet it is under $10. I was taught by a friend of mine that anyone can buy a great bottle of wine for over $50 but it takes talent to find a great bottle for $10. You will not be disappointed using and drinking this brand. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great basic recipe ... easy to alter, which I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Any chili recipe will have a great deal of flavor and spice if you use some pork chorizo added to the ground beef.1/2 pound pork chorizo fried a long with the ground beef in this recipe would work well.Beef chorizo would work well all so.I like using pinto beans for my chili.If you like bean burritos use this recipe a long with some green whole chiles.Add chiles when pouring beans into the tortilla.You can freeze the burritos for the micro wave,after school snack for your children.Did this for years until children grew up and left home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States