The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
My first time making chili! Thanks for the easy recipe, the flavor was fantastic. The only changes I made was 1 can kidney beans, 1 can black bean, 1 can pinto beans, just to mix it up. The texture was a little soupy, anyone have ideas on how to thicken it up? Otherwise excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
I LOVE this chili! My husband and I both find it addictive and can't stop eating! I add onions, a can of tomato paste, and bump up the spices a little. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Very good Chili! Unfortunately, it was missing the "kick" my husband I love. So, I added the following ingredients and if you like it spicy try adding these: 2T Garlic Powder, 1T Cayenne Pepper, 1T Salt, 3T Brown Sugar, 2T Honey, and 1T of extra Chili Powder. Oh yeah, a suggestion to thicken up the chili is to use 2T of Corn Starch with 4T Water. Hats off to Wendy for creating this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
443 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Followed the recipe exactly. On day one, we thought the chili tasted pretty good but weren't totally sold. However, on day three this was out-of-this-world fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Made this for some friends at a pumpkin carving party in October. This is an excellent recipe. I made some modifications. Skipped red wine vinegar and used some old wine I had for cooking. I also used 3 different beans (kidney, Chili, and plain vegetarian beans). Finally, I recommend adding some Frank's Red Hot to taste. I think I threw in some powdered cayenne pepper. I love my chili HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Very good recipe - I always double it and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I substituted 3 cans chili hot beans for the kidney beans, and 3 cans chili tomatoes for the Mexican stewed tomatoes. I also used 1/2 Lb sausage and 1/2 Lb ground beef the result was excellent. The only minor complaint was it could have been a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
very good !! i did not add the red wine though. turned out great anyway !doubled the recipe , my husband loved it !!thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I was nervous all day about this chili, it did not look real good until I added the wine and cooked it for the last two hours, it was great! My hubsand loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
It ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Kern

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Denville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States