The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I don't use Mexican tomatoes,just regular tomatoes, and I use Northern Beans not kidney beans - but - add a heaping tablespoon of creamy peanut butter melted in to take this over the top in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe - adding from other reviewers - 3 Tbsp. vinegar, 2 Tbsp garlic powder, 1/2 Tbsp Cayenne, 3 Tbsp. brown sugar & 2 Tbsp honey. This is the absolute best Chili recipe you will ever make. No one - but no one can top this. NO restaurant can begin to touch it. The title "The Ultimate Chili" - is 100% on the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Great recipe. I used fake meat because I am veggie. I used a green pepper, instead of red, and replaced one can of kidney beans w/ black beans because that is what I had on hand. I also added some green onions because I had some that I had to use up. I also drained and rinsed the beans. I only cooked it for 3 hours before serving because I got a late start and didn't think my family would be happy waiting until 9 for dinner. My 7 year old daughter loved this recipe and ate two big bowls full and said it was the best chili she has ever had. This is definitely more than 6 servings. I have plenty left over for dinner tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I always read reviews first, but seeing nearly 5 stars I just went for it. MISTAKE. If you read all the positive reviews most have added additions to them, too. We love chilli and are not in any way chilli snobs. I like to try a different recipe each time and usually even the worst recipe is still alright. This was just... odd. The celery was pointless. I didn't really taste it in there, so it was an added step. No tomato sauce made it very watery, more like a beef soup broth instead of the thicker tomato base of most chilis. No onions was just sad. The stewed tomatoes were WAY too big. The small amount of chili powder was very lacking. Picture a bland chili in beef broth with giant tomatoes. I saved it by adding tomato sauce, onions and tons more chili powder. There was an under lying weird taste to it. I'm thinking it was the red wine vinegar or the red wine. It was edible before my additions, but I'd never ever make this again. My chilli loving husband who will eat any kind of chili in a can with a smile tasted this and said it was gross. Yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I made this recipe for work today and everyone loved it so much that it was gone in 20 minutes. People were coming back hoping for seconds...lol Only changes I made were that I omitted the celery since I didnt have any on hand, used ground turkey instead of beef, and used fresh basil. Fabulous and easy recipe. If you want to spice up a little you can always add a little cayene pepper. Thanks for the great recipe!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
added onions and sausage and more seasoning. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Maybe I shouldn't give this 5 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but that was because I didn't have all the ingredients and just used what I had on hand. But this recipe was the base for some of the best chili I have made in awhile so I'm giving it 5 stars. Changes I made: 2 pint jars of home canned plain tomatoes, 2 cans of beans (one kidney and one cannellini), 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce, 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar and added some onion and garlic, no red wine or bell pepper. And after I browned the ground meat (used venison), I used the pan to saute the onion, garlic and celery in a little olive oil before adding to the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Spong
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
My first time making chili and I was looking for one that I could use as my template. I didn't make mine very fancy, skipped the wine and added onion and garlic. Turned out thick and very yummy! I'm very happy with how it turned out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Spong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Sorry, but I found this recipe to just OK for chili - I've had much better. I made it exactly as written, using 93% lean ground beef, and cooking on "high" for 6 hours. I found it fairly watery (the recipe didn't say whether to drain the canned vegetables, so I didn't). I also thought the addition of celery to chili a bit odd, and the omission of onions to be a big minus. The red wine and red wine vinegar flavors might have been a plus in a better recipe, but here they didn't help enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This is is good chili, I made a few additions that I feel move it into a five star- one onion diced, a small tin (213 ml.) of tomato sauce to make it less watery and more tomatoey, a few dashes of hot sauce, and a tsp. of ground chilies. I made this for a group for a football game afternoon, it is perfect for that along with corn bread or a bowl of nacho chips. Thanks for the recipe, Wendy. I liked the addition of cumin, which wasn't it other chili recipes I've used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States