The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I always read reviews first, but seeing nearly 5 stars I just went for it. MISTAKE. If you read all the positive reviews most have added additions to them, too. We love chilli and are not in any way chilli snobs. I like to try a different recipe each time and usually even the worst recipe is still alright. This was just... odd. The celery was pointless. I didn't really taste it in there, so it was an added step. No tomato sauce made it very watery, more like a beef soup broth instead of the thicker tomato base of most chilis. No onions was just sad. The stewed tomatoes were WAY too big. The small amount of chili powder was very lacking. Picture a bland chili in beef broth with giant tomatoes. I saved it by adding tomato sauce, onions and tons more chili powder. There was an under lying weird taste to it. I'm thinking it was the red wine vinegar or the red wine. It was edible before my additions, but I'd never ever make this again. My chilli loving husband who will eat any kind of chili in a can with a smile tasted this and said it was gross. Yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I made this recipe for work today and everyone loved it so much that it was gone in 20 minutes. People were coming back hoping for seconds...lol Only changes I made were that I omitted the celery since I didnt have any on hand, used ground turkey instead of beef, and used fresh basil. Fabulous and easy recipe. If you want to spice up a little you can always add a little cayene pepper. Thanks for the great recipe!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
added onions and sausage and more seasoning. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Maybe I shouldn't give this 5 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but that was because I didn't have all the ingredients and just used what I had on hand. But this recipe was the base for some of the best chili I have made in awhile so I'm giving it 5 stars. Changes I made: 2 pint jars of home canned plain tomatoes, 2 cans of beans (one kidney and one cannellini), 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce, 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar and added some onion and garlic, no red wine or bell pepper. And after I browned the ground meat (used venison), I used the pan to saute the onion, garlic and celery in a little olive oil before adding to the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cm2
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
My first time making chili and I was looking for one that I could use as my template. I didn't make mine very fancy, skipped the wine and added onion and garlic. Turned out thick and very yummy! I'm very happy with how it turned out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Sorry, but I found this recipe to just OK for chili - I've had much better. I made it exactly as written, using 93% lean ground beef, and cooking on "high" for 6 hours. I found it fairly watery (the recipe didn't say whether to drain the canned vegetables, so I didn't). I also thought the addition of celery to chili a bit odd, and the omission of onions to be a big minus. The red wine and red wine vinegar flavors might have been a plus in a better recipe, but here they didn't help enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This is is good chili, I made a few additions that I feel move it into a five star- one onion diced, a small tin (213 ml.) of tomato sauce to make it less watery and more tomatoey, a few dashes of hot sauce, and a tsp. of ground chilies. I made this for a group for a football game afternoon, it is perfect for that along with corn bread or a bowl of nacho chips. Thanks for the recipe, Wendy. I liked the addition of cumin, which wasn't it other chili recipes I've used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is a fantastic basic chili recipe and is not spicy, so you can add what you like as you go. I added 4 sweet italian sausages (out of casings and browned) and used 2 28-oz cans of tomatoes. It's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made a couple of adjustments and forgot the vinegar, but it turned out AWESOME! Only did 2 cans of beans - 1 dark red kidney bean and 1 chili beans in chili sauce, and used "Chili Ready" canned tomatoes instead. I'm guessing that because I used already seasoned beans and tomatoes, it didn't matter that I forgot the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Never made chili with red wine vinegar. Does red wine vinegar actually have any alcohol content? Also does anyone know what would be a suitable substuit for red or white wine in recipes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States