The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was just OK for me. I am more about the Boilermaker Tailgate Chili on Allrecipes. I enjoyed this with a peanut butter sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
With just a few adjustments, this was the best chili we have ever made! I added 1/2 of a medium-sized onion, 3 garlic cloves (which I cooked with the beef),only 2 cans of stewed mexi-tomatoes and beans (I used a tri-bean variety, it had red kidney, pinto, and black beans), just a splash of the red wine vinegar, and 1/2 of a jalapeno pepper (it could have used the whole pepper, or substituted another variety). It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It's not exactly bad, but I did hesitate to add vinegar and red wine. I will stick to my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It was not for my family at all. The red wine vinegar made the chili taste sweet. Oh well if I had not tried it I would never have known I don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Thought I'd experiment and try this in lieu of the chili recipe the family loves. Disappointing! No punch, and this is even after we added two of our own garden-grown dried chili peppers (which will usually save ANY recipe). Recipe was also done long before the time given for the slow cooker. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was great. Would cut the wine vinegar in half but this will be our "go to" chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I followed The basic recipe fairly closely. Even to adding the cornstarch and water for thickening however we did Add 1 teaspoon of cayenne,some additional Kosher salt, A can of Rotell diced, mild, tomatoes plus the two cans of stewed tomatoes; a tablespoon of additional cumin, an diced , browned onion, with a dash of LOVE! A great recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
1-1/2 TSP Chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
We loved this recipe! I made it exactly as described. My only change was substituting ground turkey for ground beef as we try to avoid red meat. I did not mash the stewed tomatoes as some suggested nor did I thicken it with cornstarch. It was perfect! We liked the seasonings & thought it had just enough heat. My husband raved about it! This is definitely a winner in our house. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is the only chili recipe my husband liked. He is Mexican, so he should know. I followed the recipe exactly accept I added onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckytuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States