The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I ended up making this on the stove top and it turned out pretty good. The red wine vinegar left it a little bit too tangy for us so I added some beef bouillon to give it a little meatier flavor and that seemed to counteract the vinegar to suit our taste. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was a great recipe. I added a little of my own flair with a can of diced green chilies, two fresh diced jalapenos and diced onion. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
An awesome chili recipe, it is now one of my favorite all time chili recipes. I added a small splash of Tabasco sauce just to give it a little kick, almost everything taste better with a splash of Tabasco. I also replaced one can of dark red kidney beans with one can of pinto beans, just for a little color, (and besides I only had 2 cans of kidney beans on hand.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Wasn't a big fan of this one, and I have made more than a few batches of chili in my day. I think the red wine vinegar was not a good addition and that this recipe could benefit from some more spice/ingredients. The red wine addition wasn't bad, but it could not save this chili by itself. Mine came kind of sweet and spicy, but something about the aftertaste just didn't settle with me. Also, use diced tomatoes instead of stewed, unless you like tomato quarters floating around in your chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I added bbq pulled pork and taco sauce. just an idea. This is an awsome base to start experiments from
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Good basic recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TarynG
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. I used regular stewed tomatoes and left out the cumin because I didn't have any on hand. It's really easy to make and tastes delicious. It's easy to add some kick by increasing the amount of chili powder or adding a bit of red pepper flakes. I also thickened it with two tablespoons corn starch dissolved in two tablespoons water. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We are not chili people but I needed a new recipe for the crock pot so I tried this one. We all loved it, I thought it was even better the next day! Like some other reviews I have to have onions and garlic, also I like adding the brown sugar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila P.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This has been our favorite chili recipe since I first found it in December of 1999. I make it every Christmas Eve! It makes the evening hassle free. I do everything pretty much to the recipe. I often forget to put the wine in and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
tasty! I used 1 can dark red, 1 can black and 1 can pinto beans. Also, a chopped onion and 2 large cloves of garlic, and at the time we had just a red table wine to put in. Tasted very good! Oh, and only 1 T. of chili powder. Made it again and used 1 can of RoTel tomatoes, 1 can Italian stewed tomatoes and 1 can diced. A can red kidney beans, 1 can, red beans and 1 can pintos. Also about 1 1/2 T. chili powder, onion, red and green pepper. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States