The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Good basic recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TarynG
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. I used regular stewed tomatoes and left out the cumin because I didn't have any on hand. It's really easy to make and tastes delicious. It's easy to add some kick by increasing the amount of chili powder or adding a bit of red pepper flakes. I also thickened it with two tablespoons corn starch dissolved in two tablespoons water. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We are not chili people but I needed a new recipe for the crock pot so I tried this one. We all loved it, I thought it was even better the next day! Like some other reviews I have to have onions and garlic, also I like adding the brown sugar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila P.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This has been our favorite chili recipe since I first found it in December of 1999. I make it every Christmas Eve! It makes the evening hassle free. I do everything pretty much to the recipe. I often forget to put the wine in and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
tasty! I used 1 can dark red, 1 can black and 1 can pinto beans. Also, a chopped onion and 2 large cloves of garlic, and at the time we had just a red table wine to put in. Tasted very good! Oh, and only 1 T. of chili powder. Made it again and used 1 can of RoTel tomatoes, 1 can Italian stewed tomatoes and 1 can diced. A can red kidney beans, 1 can, red beans and 1 can pintos. Also about 1 1/2 T. chili powder, onion, red and green pepper. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This has been a staple in our home for a few years now and we LOVE it! I have made it as is, I have substituted things when I didn't have the exact ingredients (red pepper for green pepper, red for white wine, worcestershire sauce and salt for soy sauce), etc and it has always came out so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was craving chili & this hit the spot! I actually prefer my chili on the soupy side. I did have to add hot sauce cause I like it really hot! It was really good, however, it's not quite the chili I am in search of. It's a great start though, I might experiment with it & who knows I could possibly make it "the one"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crashamy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I couldn't follow this recipe exactly because I didn't have the red wine but that was the only thing I left out. I got mixed reviews on this one. Me personally I thought it was very good but my husband did not like at all. He said it was too sweet tasting. Kids weren't all that impressed either but they did eat it (loaded with crackers and cheese) where my husband would not take another bite. I would like to try it again for sure but maybe change it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beechgrove, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Yum this was great! I used 2 cans of rotel and one can regular diced tomatoes and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe! Like others, I added 2 tsp. of brown sugar, more chili powder and cayenne pepper. I also thickened the chili using two tsp. of corn starch. My wife loved it! My recommendation is to also make Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread, an excellent recipe from allrecipes.com. It's easy to make and can easily be done while the chili is cooking in the slow cooker. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States