The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This was good, but the spices needed to be enhanced. I used a bulb of garlic, 1 tsp salt, 2 T Brown Sugar, 4oz can of green chili's hot, 1/4 tsp cayenne and 1 onion. Even though I added the ingredients above, it was still not enough. I added more spices and Worcestershire sauce. Even then, my fiance still added more chilli powder at the table. If I make this again, I will triple the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Abbitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This turned out very bitter, and I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I loved this recipe! This is my first time making chili. I read the suggestions and the changes I made were I used 3 diffferent types of beans: Black beans, Jalapeno Pinto beans and Kidney beans. I also used Rotel tomatoes for the Mexican stewed tomatoes (same thing, smaller cuts of tomatoes) to give it kick and added garlic and onion when sauteing the meat. I didn't drain my beans because I like my little a little soupy. I had no red wine vinegar or red wine, but added half a bottle of beer. My husband LOVED it and asked my to double the recipe and make it for his work! THANK you for a great base!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
seriously the best freaking chili ever! my family is obsessed with it!! i substituted black beans for some of the kidney beans and it was AWESOME! thank you very much for this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cebaker91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Excellent! David LOVED this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
good stuff! we added one medium onion and used 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef...we also added a can of corn and only did two cans of kidney beans...also for a bit of a kick we added 3 jalapeno peppers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dumbee cooks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Great recipe. I made this yesterday and my family loved it!! The flavor was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I ended up making this on the stove top and it turned out pretty good. The red wine vinegar left it a little bit too tangy for us so I added some beef bouillon to give it a little meatier flavor and that seemed to counteract the vinegar to suit our taste. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was a great recipe. I added a little of my own flair with a can of diced green chilies, two fresh diced jalapenos and diced onion. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
An awesome chili recipe, it is now one of my favorite all time chili recipes. I added a small splash of Tabasco sauce just to give it a little kick, almost everything taste better with a splash of Tabasco. I also replaced one can of dark red kidney beans with one can of pinto beans, just for a little color, (and besides I only had 2 cans of kidney beans on hand.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States