The Supreme Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Added a bit more salt and used frozen veggies instead of carrots but a delicious quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
A yummy and delicious way to use the pot roast leftovers! I didn't measure, but used all the leftover pot roast, stirred in the leftover cooked carrots, frozen peas and as suggested by another a can of creamed corn. Topped with a layer of sliced red onion and then poured all the left-over gravy on top. For easier spread-ability, I warmed up the left-over mashed potatoes and layered on top. And for extra yumminess, sprinkled shredded cheese on top. Cooked for an hour with tin foil (I sprayed cooking spray on tin foil to prevent sticking). This tasted better to me that the pot roast did the previous day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe with a couple of modifications suggested by other reviewers. I sauteed the onions before putting them on and then made the dish into individual casserole dishes so I could add sauteed mushrooms to mine (dh hates them). Because I'm on a low salt diet, I used some homemade chicken stock in place of canned beef gravy and it worked great. This recipe lends itself to lots of personalization depending on taste and using individual casserole dishes made it over the top for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Added corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was just not what I expected. The recipe looked good from the ingredients, but the three layers just did not meld. They remained distinct. The onions were a bit overwhelming, which would have been okay if they had flavored the meat or the potatoes, rather than staying an isolated flavor. The rest was quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Finally, a real shepherds pie recipe. The one my mother made used left over roast beef and gravy. I don't want any cream soups with my beef. Thanks for this redcipe. Can put in frozen veggies if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
this is awesome.the only problem was the temperature at 350 was not hot so Im goin to try alittle bit higher temperature..Other than that its excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was just the ticket! I had left-over lamb from this site "Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary" and thickened up the gravy from the roast with a bit of roux, used left-over mashed potatoes, and cooked as described. Only difference was I had but one onion so minced it and threw it on, and a few handfuls of peas, sliced carrots & celery for some veg. Tasty and even my little ones loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
growing up my mom made this 2-3 times a month -- she used left over grilled hamburgers ( chopped), left over steak, ground beef or pork -- what ever left overs gravey or a jar of gravey, box of green beans. The best part was the crusty garlic mashed potatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Brangaccio Marks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Use juice from pot roast then you do not need dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States