The Stowe Show Sweet Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. Using the stowe show recipe, my boyfriend made the best burgers both of us had ever had. You have to use your judgement as far as the liquid to meat ratio. Add the liquid a little at a time and stop when all meat appears saturated. Top with some fresh spinach, onions, Cabot cheddar, and hearty bacon and you've got an incredible burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is my favorite recipe on the whole site!!! Everyone who i've made this for begs me to make it again. I make it for dinner atleast 2 or 3 times a month. And when you've made the mixture and it looks like water and slop don't be afraid, once slopped on the grill for a while it turns into the most delicious burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
The flavor and juiciness of these was really wonderful - 5 star. But I'm only rating the recipe 4 because I'd be really afraid to add hot liquid into cold meat. Thank you to tscheidler who suggested chilling for a few hours in the fridge. And thank you to the Stowe Show for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
My Friends here are a few tips to really enjoy this recipe: #1 The meat and the liquid (the sugar, seasonings, etc) must be COLD when you bring them together. If you take the mixture immediately off of the heat and then add it to the meat you're going to have problems. After you've finished the cooking of the mixture place it in a container and stick it in the fridge for a few hours. #2 Add the liquid in small amounts. When you notice the meat is just beginning to become saturated stop adding liquid. You may only use 2/3's of the mixture and that is OK. The burgers will still be plenty sweet and flavorful. #3 When cooking turn your grill up to high and pop those patties down. After you've loaded up your grill close the lid and leave them be for 5 minutes. NO PEAKING. After 5 minutes return, flip, close lid and don't peak for another 5 minutes. When you return they're done and you're all set to eat. We've really enjoyed this recipe and I'm looking forward to many more BBQ's featuring the Stowe Show. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
this burger was nothing above average, the sweet burger can be made without thinking,without recipe on allrecipes.com overall basic burgers are the best,but not this time better luck next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Siren, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was certainly different. It was sweet. But... let's just say that worcestershire, italian seasoning, and brown sugar do not all belong in the same dish. Sadly this was much better smothered in bbq sauce which worked out well with the worcestershire flavor. The only change I made was to use onion powder instead of fresh. This wasn't terrible, it was just an odd mix of tastes that I didn't think went together. Thanks, I had fun fixing a new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
These were AWESOME. This recipe is so unique for hamburgers- SO GOOD! Scaled down the recipe to make 5 burgers and only used 1/2 the recommended amount of worcestershire and brown sugar. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This recipe is absolutely delicious... we've made it three times... two times it turned out GREAT... this last time we had too much liquid...but we were able to make things work. I think the problem was we changed the original portion size. Be aware... and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
a little less sugar would be good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
There was much too much liquid, the meat fell apart, and even after I added additional meat to compensate for the sogginess, the burgers turned out so dry, they were inedible. If you've been curious about this recipe, save your time, and your groceries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States