The Soup with the Little Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
It was not as good as I expected. It was rather bland even with me adding some extra Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, etc; this could partially be due to me having to add more liquid to keep it from becoming a pasta salad. I definitely recommend adding salt and pepper to the meatballs and maybe searing them in a pan to add some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I am going to use a very lean beef for the meatballs and add a vegetable as well. I would suggest that you cook the pasta seperately, drain it and then add soup into the cooked pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
We (hubby & I) made this last night and we loved this - we didn't know what to expect but it was spectacular! I took a lot of suggestions from other people though, we used 1lb ground beef, used more broth (and could have used more) and added garlic & onion. I also used only 1c parm in the broth. I put in a can of diced tomato and a small can of green chiles because it seemed to plain otherwise but we were amazed by how delicious it was and we'll definitely be making this again. We also fried the meatballs first - I was afraid they'd set all stuck together and also it cooked out some of the fat that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I am giving this recipe three stars for the meatballs only. as for the rest of the recipe, there is no "soup" to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Great soup! I added a little garlic and onion to the meatballs for more flavor. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Very thick. The pasta tasted fine but I didn't like the meat balls. Also, it was extremely difficult to clean the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I made the soup for my girlfriend and she loves it. She asks me to make it all the time now. It makes a great leftover also, seems to me it tastes better after being reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I had to really modify the recipe to make it work but it was pretty good. The meatballs seemed a little hard, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Great taste, and using 90 percent lean ground beef not greasy as all. But as others have observed, it was way too thick. Next time would add additional broth or reduce amount of pasta,perhaps both,and maybe cook at simmer instead of on medium after adding pasta. But as other
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
The flavor is very good. Mine did not exactly turn out to be a "soup." It was more of a pasta side dish, but it was delicious, and very easy to make. To give it more of a soup consistency I would probably use half the pasta, and maybe add a can or two more chicken broth. Unless you like TONS of meatballs, then I would halve the meat. I used very lean ground chuck (93/7) so there was not a lot of grease. I added spinach to mine. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States