The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
My mother, from Covington, Ky. used the stovetop method to make this, and I was delighted to find this easy recipe. Thanks for bringing back the memories Sarge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Excellent! I thought you had to be from Cincinnati to like goetta, but my husband, the New Englander, loves this stuff. It is best served with fried eggs and toast. Thanks, Sarge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I remember someone in the family fondly recalling "Grandma's pork based oatmeal breakfast concoction that was fried up like bacon" (never heard of Goetta though) and thinking I'd like to try that "someday"....well I did and I gotta say it's GREAT!! And I'm not even from around the Cincy area....Thanks Sarge for the tasty recipe!! I was thinking of trying an Italian sausage in the mix and frying it up using olive oil for a slight variation. I hope Grandma would approve....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Kapowsin, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Thanks for a very old Cincinnati memory! I had almost forgotten just how much we always liked Goetta until I recently saw this recipe posted. I lost my own recipe many years ago, shortly after we left Cincinnati.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Wow! this is probably more "Cincinnati" than Skyline Chili! Taste great fried extra crispy & served with eggs-your-way. It is interesting to note that almost all larger meat-packing-cities with significant ethnic populations have come-up with some version of this dish. It is bassically a "poor-man's sausage", geberrally using soome knid of grain as a "filler" (think "Hamburger Helper"). The addidtion of cooked oats can stretch a little bit of pork & beef a long way! (originally the early immigrants would use those cuts of meat unwanted by the meat packers, i.e. neck bones, etc. Goetta could be fried in the morning and packed as a sandwich for the guys going out to earn a living. Try this recipe for a real authentic German/American treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sgt.Rock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I am from cincy also and raised om grandmas recipie. Now I am 31 and will be taking over the duty of making this time honered classic.Love the stuff and cant get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
well worth the time & effort; I made this and prepared 1/2 lb. gift packs and they were very well received - real authentic "Cincinnati" cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
My husband and I live 50 miles north of Cincinnati and had never even heard of goetta. It truly is a Cincinnati thing. Our daughter-in-law who was raised in Cinci. introduced it to us.Wow! We were immediatly hooked. So much so, I went on the hunt for a recipe and was elated to find this one. I increased the pepper to 3 teaspoons to kick it up a notch.We really like pepper. My husband keeps raving about it. I know this is a recipe I will use often and will quickly end up as a " Grandma's recipe" that will be handed down through the family. Thanks for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Just like my mother used to make back in Cincy! I don't cook mine nearly as long as shown in the recipe. I found the oatmeal (steel cut) in the health foods section at Krogers. I have cut back on the amount of water as it gives the goetta a thicker consistency that makes it easier to fry. I also line the bread pan with wax paper that allows me to remove it from the pan and makes it easier to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hope, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I live in the Cincy area and I can't beleive this recipe! It is so much better than the stuff you buy in the store. Relatives of mine live in Ct and always want me to send them goetta which can get expensive, so I am going to give them this and they too are sure to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States