The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Wow! this is probably more "Cincinnati" than Skyline Chili! Taste great fried extra crispy & served with eggs-your-way. It is interesting to note that almost all larger meat-packing-cities with significant ethnic populations have come-up with some version of this dish. It is bassically a "poor-man's sausage", geberrally using soome knid of grain as a "filler" (think "Hamburger Helper"). The addidtion of cooked oats can stretch a little bit of pork & beef a long way! (originally the early immigrants would use those cuts of meat unwanted by the meat packers, i.e. neck bones, etc. Goetta could be fried in the morning and packed as a sandwich for the guys going out to earn a living. Try this recipe for a real authentic German/American treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sgt.Rock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Just like my mother used to make back in Cincy! I don't cook mine nearly as long as shown in the recipe. I found the oatmeal (steel cut) in the health foods section at Krogers. I have cut back on the amount of water as it gives the goetta a thicker consistency that makes it easier to fry. I also line the bread pan with wax paper that allows me to remove it from the pan and makes it easier to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hope, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This stuff is good! I think it might be an acquired taste though because the more I ate the better it got, and the crispier it was the better too. Very easy to make it just takes quite a long time. I think next time I'll probably cut back on the cooking time for the steel cut oats because I had about an inch stuck to the bottom of my crock pot when I finished the 90 minutes. Also, it might be easier to take all the ingredients after the oats are cooked, and mix them in a large bowl before transferring them back into the crockpot because it was hard to mix all together in the crockpot. I just went ahead and refrigerated this overnight because it took so long we went out to eat and I finished cooking the goetta the next morning. I might consider trying to cut this recipe in half next time because it makes a ton. I'm used to making big meals, but this was just overwhelming. It completely fills the crockpot. And when your only cutting thin slices to fry it goes a long way. I'm thinking about freezing the leftovers. I'm not sure if that will work out in the end, but it's worth a try. If you like to cook and don't mind the time it takes, and like to try new things, especially foods from Germany, Hungary, Poland, ect. try this I think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Malvern, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My husband was very skeptical when he saw how much was in the crock pot and no matter what I told him about the rave reviews this recipe receives convinced him that it would taste like his favorite (Gliers)- until he tried it the next morning! He said it was delicious. Since it made so much, I gave my dad a 'loaf' and he says it's the best he's ever had. I usually don't fry my goetta in oil or butter, but rely on the fat in the product. I'll use butter or a little bit of oil next time since the fat was absorbed by the oats. I had little refrigerator space and it was late when the product finished cooking, so I put the mixture into a 9 x 13 pan, evened it out and let it cool off a bit at room temperature before putting it into the refrigerator. The next morning, I turned it out onto waxed paper and cut it into 3 loaves. I plan to freeze the 3rd- but next time, I'll cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This recipe is great! It is easier, just as tasty, and has a better consistancy than our stovetop recipe. To fit in our crockpot, we halved the recipe. Also, we added 1 Tbsp of Mrs. Dash table blend to enhance the flavor. (You can also sprinkle it on the finished product to see if you like it. We highly recommend it.) We also cooled it completely in the pan, turned it onto a cutting board, cut it into usable portions, and froze them for easy use. Thanks for a fabulous recipe that is absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Tried this. Worked great. Did make a few changes. Used only pork (meat from pork neck bones cooked for 2 hrs). Added 1 bay leaf and 1/2 tsp. sage. As good or better than Gliers in Cincinnati, OH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I am from cincy also and raised om grandmas recipie. Now I am 31 and will be taking over the duty of making this time honered classic.Love the stuff and cant get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I live in the Cincy area and I can't beleive this recipe! It is so much better than the stuff you buy in the store. Relatives of mine live in Ct and always want me to send them goetta which can get expensive, so I am going to give them this and they too are sure to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
My husband and I live 50 miles north of Cincinnati and had never even heard of goetta. It truly is a Cincinnati thing. Our daughter-in-law who was raised in Cinci. introduced it to us.Wow! We were immediatly hooked. So much so, I went on the hunt for a recipe and was elated to find this one. I increased the pepper to 3 teaspoons to kick it up a notch.We really like pepper. My husband keeps raving about it. I know this is a recipe I will use often and will quickly end up as a " Grandma's recipe" that will be handed down through the family. Thanks for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
well worth the time & effort; I made this and prepared 1/2 lb. gift packs and they were very well received - real authentic "Cincinnati" cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States