The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I was raised with this recipe! Loved it then and now! It is good as skyline chili in cincinnati! I live in ga so I dont get that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Overall, we really enjoyed this! Step 1-3 went off without a hitch. I ended up putting the meat + onion in my food processor because I couldn't get the mixture uniform with hand mixing. When it came time to slice and fry up, they just fell apart into hash. I tried different pans, different oil/fats, and different levels of thickness. They just came apart every time - the hash was yummy though! I ended up putting the slices on a sprayed cookie sheet in a 375 degree onion for 20+ minutes. They came out great - nice and crispy. I didn't even need to flip them. Very tasty recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Obviously a taste acquired in early childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_msry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is amazing! Tastes just like store bought Goetta from Cincinnati! I've made this recipe 3 times, and I'd managed to make a huge mess just once. READ THE RECIPE! The first time, I added the oats to the meat and cooked it all at once, surprisingly it came out good still. The second time, I left the heat on high after I added the meat (DON'T DO THIS!!) it came out like soup. The third, I've managed to perfect it. If your "meat stew mixture" starts to look watery after about an hour, just go ahead and begin the cooling process. I roll them into little tootsie roll looking logs and store one in the fridge and freeze the others to defrost the night before I plan to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I have been making goetta for years in my crockpot and this could almost be my recipe!! The only thing I do different is to press a couple of bay leaves into the goetta after I put it into the loaf pans. Also, to save time, I just boil the water in my tea kettle then pour it all in the crockpot. I put this in the little tinfoil loaf pans, and put those in a ziplock in the freezer. One of the little pans is a ration for my wife and I. A couple duck eggs, and a slice or two of my homemade bread and that's a meal that will stick with you as you do the morning chores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigCountry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
OK, I didn't grow up on goetta but I married a Cincinnati guy and he loves it. Since we live in L.A. now, I have to make it myself for him. I followed this recipe to the letter except for a couple of bay leaves I added. My husband says it tastes totally authentic but he does want more salt in his so I will probably add another couple of teaspoons next year. NOTE: I ended up with 11 pounds of goetta with this recipe! I had to cook it in one crock pot and one dutch oven. A HUGE amount! I poured it into standard loaf pans (several!) and chilled overnight. Then, I took each "loaf" and cut it lengthwise to give me a cylinder which I then rolled into a sheet of plastic wrap to resemble the logs you get if you buy Gliers goetta. Wrap in foil and fill your freezer with porky goodness for the year! Thank you Sarge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I have been wanting to make goetta for a while, because you can't find it anywhere out here in Washington. I have my grandma's recipe but it's vague and complicated. She starts with pork butt and beef chuck and grinds it herself. I figured you knew your stuff, so I decided to try your recipe. It smells and tastes just like grandma's. Now my mom and I have goetta for Christmas. Thanks Sarge!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JmeMcK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Born and raised in Cincy. This recipe is almost word for word the same as our family recipe. I love it fried crispy with only salt on it. The girls in the family prefer it with Apple Butter on it. Either way it easily replaces all other breakfast meats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
WOW, thanks for this recipe! We live in Cincinnati and make this all the time...from the store. This recipe is overall SO easy to make, makes a lot, and in my opinion is far better than the store-bought kind! I've shared it with several friends who agree- five stars for sure!!! Original recipe is very large - we generally cut it in half to fit in our slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Thank you so much for putting this up...I moved to SoCal 4 years ago and every once in a while I get a serious craving for Goetta and it is just getting way to expensive to order it from Cincifavs.com. I have introduced all of my California friends to this and they love it. Agree about using less water tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Stahl-Dye

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States