The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is a great recipe to build upon. While it tastes really good, I prefer to add 5 bay leaves w/ the meat and onion mixture (remove before cooling) and fry 1/2" slices of this yumminess in a little bacon grease until very crisp and salt liberally. I also recommend using a cast iron skillet. I am from Cincinnati and my paternal grandpa was the "maker of the goetta" for the whole family. Now I make it for family, friends and even acquaintances who are curious. Everyone loves my goetta:) Making a batch now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jason dickman
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
You didn't warn me you made this for your army, Sarge! Well, there's some happy Cincinnati natives in San Diego this week! Passing the pounds of leftovers out to friends after I take my fair share, of course. I am going to suggest they season it to their liking while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jason dickman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I grew up up in Cincinnati and goetta was always a favorite breakfast when I was young. I love this recipe. My dad and I never could agree about whether to put maple syrup on it (him) or ketchup on it (me). I like it with or without ketchup, but never could sully the taste with syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Harrison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
The ONLY way to prepare goetta is by hand grinding the meat. Preferably by using the "cast iron hand crank" left to you by your Mother:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
LOVE!!!!!! This is such a great breakfast--I love that it combines the protein of the meats with the stick-to-your-ribs oatmeal. This recipe is a definite winner with the whole family--even my one-year old loves it. Thank you so much. My one comment is that with this recipe, the Sarge is definitely feeding his army. I cut the recipe in half and still ended up with enough to put in the freezer for the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I moved from Cincinnati to Portland, OR about a year ago and was reluctant to try this recipe. I halved it and got about 4 good loafs of goetta, enough to last a month and a half. Next time I'll probably just do 1/4 of the recipe. As a note, I have officially turned Portlanders onto goetta, they can't get enough. I also just used the pork sausage, not beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
A couple notes; Those who said they used pin head oats instead of steel cut oats, don't worry, they are the same product. Pls use ground pork shoulder not pork sausage. Sausage changes the flavor to a taste not associated w/ goetta. Great grandmother Shuttlecuttie from Cincy says you also need 1/2 lb of ground calf's liver. Fry in iron skillet w/ Crisco after chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I was raised with this recipe! Loved it then and now! It is good as skyline chili in cincinnati! I live in ga so I dont get that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Overall, we really enjoyed this! Step 1-3 went off without a hitch. I ended up putting the meat + onion in my food processor because I couldn't get the mixture uniform with hand mixing. When it came time to slice and fry up, they just fell apart into hash. I tried different pans, different oil/fats, and different levels of thickness. They just came apart every time - the hash was yummy though! I ended up putting the slices on a sprayed cookie sheet in a 375 degree onion for 20+ minutes. They came out great - nice and crispy. I didn't even need to flip them. Very tasty recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Obviously a taste acquired in early childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_msry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States