The Right Choice Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I used vanilla instead of coconut extract and coconut milk instead of regular milk. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made one change, and that was to use vanilla extract instead of coconut. We don't have coconut extract, and I just don't like coconut in general. I also used a rounded tablespoon to scoop out the mixture onto the tray and got 48 small-ish cookies out of it. I also cooked them for exactly 10 minutes, took them out and left them on the tray for a minute or two to cool down before transferring over to a rack. A guest claimed that they're SO MUCH BETTER than the recipe on the back of the Nestle Tollhouse package and wants the recipe. My sweet-toothed husband is now a big fan of them and wants me to keep using this recipe...so I will. The chocolate chips in the middle were really gooey. Good stuff. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I did not have coconut extract so I added vanilla instead. I did use Almond Joy chocolate pieces to make up for the lack of coconut extract though. These cookies were ok. I had to add more flour after the first batch backed up flat and greasy as well as turning the oven temp down to 350. Not a chewy middle cookie. I love trying new recipes so I thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Wow! The coconut extract compliment these cookies fantastically! The only thing I changed was to substitute margarine for the shortening. The cookies bake up plump and chewy. Perfect and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is an excellent cookie. I used some Ghiradelli Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips in the recipe and I used LorAnn's Coconut Oil in place of coconut extract. The oil is more concentrated than extract so I just had to adjust accordingly. The chocolate chips and coconut make a great combination. The cookies baked really nice as well. **Update** I froze the remaining dough into ready to bake balls and they bake with less cracks on the top. I also added some M&M's pressed into thr tops of the frozen dough before baking and it is was great combination with the chocolate, coconut, and cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I already have a really great chocolate chip cookie recipe, but cause of the amount of butter you can only really eat a couple at a time. So I needed a good recipe that only required 1/2 cup of butter, without the rest of the ingredients being cut by half either. This one fit the bill! I used margarine instead of shortening, and I was a bit worried cause the batter tasted floury, but they turned out really good! I think I'll be keeping this recipe. I also used vanilla instead of the coconut extract. Actually, I find that these cookies taste exactly like the ones I used to make as a kid but the recipe book has been lost for a few years, so I really will be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
mmmmm they were good I substituted one cup of the chocolate chips for chopped walnut and they very enjoyable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
SWEET! No, seriously. Although these cookies were very good, they were extremely sweet. We would definitely reccomend that you have a nice tall glass of ice-cold milk handy to help tone down the burning sweetness. We would also suggest that if you don't like to sway too far from the traditional chocolate chip cookie recipe, you substitute the coconut extract in this recipe for the usual vanilla. The coconut really does change the flavour of the cookie. Mmmm mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
These were awesome!!! My sons loved them so much I found myself making cookies all weekend...Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States