The Red Dwarf Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Big fan of Red Dwarf. Have seen every episode. I tried this recipe, using a sweet mango chutney from the Indian "international" aisle of my local grocery store (Food Lion) and Siracha chili sauce. I liked the contrast of sweet-to-spicy but I wish I had gone more sparingly on the sweet chutney, or maybe purchased and used the alternative spicy chutney instead. I only used two eggs and two slices of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidra Parham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was an AWESOME sandwich!!!!!! I did only 3 slices of bread and 2 eggs, just cause I didn't think I could eat that much. I was right, I was so full, but my gosh it was so good! I wasn't sure if chili sauce meant some kind of hot sauce or the actual sweet chili sauce, but I did use a hot habanero pepper sauce and it was a great spicy contrast to the sweet chutney. Will make this again for the husband definitely!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
The sandwich here is okay, but isn't really true to the the show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
A must for all Red Dwarf fans! I left the yolks a little soft, which really added to the overall flavour of the sandwich. I definitely recommend toasting the bread lightly in a buttered saucepan. And be sure to load on plenty of mango chutney and chili sauce. We all agreed this was surprisingly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
As a Red Dwarf fan, I've been wanting to make this sandwich for years. Definitely requires toast, not the floppy bread they use on the actual show though. We used a Korean sweet chili paste, and the mix of flavors was intense. I'd have one every morning if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Yummy! I served it on flaxseed toast with habenero mango chutney and a little bit of homemade mayonnaise. My partner and I were enchanted by the peculiar taste! Definitely a must-have (at least once in a lifetime) sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Like a road accident of flavours. We used a chili sauce that was rich and had a hint of garlic. We also used three slices of bread and lightly toasted them all. We were apprehensive but both agreed it was surprisingly toothsome. The sandwich was more than the sum of its parts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
"It's like a cross between food a bowel surgery." Eat it before the bread dissolves. Brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Delicious! Another alternative (and a way to skip a few steps) grab some mango kuchela out of the import aisle of the grocery store. It's a Carribean preserve of mangos and green peppers and works so well with a little mayonaise or veganaise in place of the butter and multigrain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States