The Rebbetzin Chef's Persian Walnut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Interesting recipe - made these for Passover. I had no experience with cookies such as these and I read all the reviews before embarking on this discovery adventure. I followed the directions except did not finely grind walnuts, just pulverized some and left others rough. The cardamon and rose water created a lovely scent (reminded me of my grandmother's bathroom). As far as my preference goes, I found the rose water overwhelmed the cookie. If I repeat this recipe, I'd try an orange water or grand mariner or using half the rose water (the first two changes might disqualify it for Passover? I'm not jewish so I'm not sure). Also using the egg white + water - take care not to let it run over onto the parchment, it glued the cookie down and it ripped when I pulled it off. I'd also make smaller size cookie - they pack a punch and not sure everyone tonight wants to eat a large one. We shall see. Interesting cookie indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Just made our first batch. Recipe seems to work fine as is but I'd like more flavor. The ground walnuts are a bit like a stiff chunky peanut butter. 20 minutes was the right amount of baking time. I placed my cookies a little too close and they fused to other cookies but once they're cool you separate them easily. A teaspoon looks small but spread a lot. The egg yolk glaze was probably unnecessary. The rose water taste was very faint. Cardamom was pretty noticeable. Texture was great light and crispy. I might add other spices next time, maybe cinnamon or nutmeg. Its a good idea to have an oven thermometer, just because you set it for 350 doesn't mean that's what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is a excellent recipe and I disagree with the others who complained that the egg mixture is too runny or that there is not enough egg for walnut mixture. The trick is to beat the egg yolks on medium/high for 5 minutes until it is light and yellow and gradually add sugar. Then you have a nice white/sugar paste. Then I mix in the almonds. I use a kitchenaid mixture for all this mixing. I didn't have any problem rolling them into small little teaspoon size balls using my hand. A standard cookie sheet will fit 18 little dough balls. My mom is persian and she said these reminded her of the same cookies she had when she was a child. I used only 2 tsp of cardamom and omitted the rose water. Despite many persian recipes using rose water, the authentic recipe does not call for it. I added 1 tsp of vanilla instead and the taste was perfect. I also think the baking time is too high and this will burn your cookies. I baked mine at 300 degrees for 20 minutes middle rack. Perfect to dip in tasty persian black tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Just had the most fun trying out this recipe! Read the reviews and followed the recipe as written except substituted pistachios as suggested in the description above. Easy to make and just love the resulting unusual aroma and taste of these cookies. Family loves them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very easy and just as tasty. Because walnuts are the main ingredient, these are a bit on the oily side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I followed the recipes as written, but heeded the advise of another and reduced the bake time to 10 minutes. They turned out spectacular! Seems a few folks have different methods of getting the walnuts finely ground. I happen to have a Health Master (Living Well with Montel) and I was able to use the pulse feature to get the walnuts completely ground/mashed. The walnuts ended up to be the consistency of peanut butter. This seemed to work great for this recipe. To get uniform size cookies I rolled a small 1-inch diameter size tube and used a teaspoon to slice each into desired portion size. I rolled each measured unit into balls and topped with a walnut piece. I also sprinkled each with a dash more cardamon for a little extra flavor. I happen to love cardamon! My husband is Persian, and was wowed by this treat. I served this with our afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I took a beautiful platter of these cookies to a party and the following morning, my husband grabbed a few to have with his coffee! Crispy, delicate, light & nice flavor! I used 1/2 ground almonds & 1/2 ground walnuts & I didn't have time to finish with the egg wash. I baked them on a Silpat sheet, so while they were very soft emerging from the oven, they were perfectly easy to remove, and crisped up immediately when cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I loved them, but mine opens up and doesn't look like the image.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These cookies were a huge hit with my Persian family. They were gone in a matter of minutes! A few tips: My first batched burned very quickly. Start checking on them after 10 minutes. The cookies flattened out a lot. They were very thin so the two inch spacing between cookies is very important. Also, I only used 1 tsp cardamom and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I have baked these twice so far. First time I messed up on timing and burned the batch. Second I followed directions more precisely and ended with some of the most beautiful and great tasting cookies. Will definitely make bake them again. I am not sure why people think three egg yolks were not enough. Dough turned out to be very good. One thing don't leave them on the baking rack and for me it took about twelve minutes to bake. After ten minutes you have to watch them because they burn very quickly after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Tassawar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States