The Really Good Salad Recipe with Pieces of Fruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This is the most delicious salad I have ever tasted. My husband & daughter raved & we couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
The sugared almonds are a must! I've made variations of the salad all summer. I didn't have luck making the dressing so I use Newman's Raspberry Viniagrette. Everybody loves this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is the best salad recipe ever!! I have made it at least 10 times - once for a supper our community club catered for 100 people. Everyone always asks for the recipe when I bring it somewhere. I have never had fresh peaches on hand, so have always omitted them. In the winter, I make it with the cranberries and mandarin oranges as the only fruit. The first time I made it with the almonds, but the next time I didn't have any, so I substituted pecans and preferred those, so that is what I always use now. The nuts make the salad!! Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I made this salad yesterday for a party, and it disappeared so FAST! I'm online now because I have to send the recipe to several people and my aunt is making it this week for a church get-together. So delicious and refreshing. I left out the mango, celery, and chives (do not like them, at all) and just increased the other fruits a little to compensate. I also added poppy seeds to the dressing. I had to add a little water to the skillet when sugaring the almonds to make the sugar stick. Other than that, made as directed. Absolutely five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This salad is always a big hit wherever I take it. I add whatever fruits I have on hand. Blueberries make a nice addition. You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Indeed, this is a really good salad. I didn't use mango bc we didn't have any, and just one kind of lettuce, but I think I used the remainder of what was called for. I did use canned peaches and mandarin oranges and 1/2'd the dressing--it's been my experience that most of the dressing recipes on here can easily be halved and still be awesome. I wasn't sure about cooking almonds and sugar without oil, but it worked perfectly. Just watch closely once the sugar starts to carmelize. Thanks for the recipe! Very good salad. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is the best salad I have ever made! I have gotten so many requests for the recipe. The one thing I learned the hard way is that after the almonds are browned, immediately toss them with the lettuce. The first time I made it, I let them cool and then had to carefully heat them up again so I could separate then because they hardened into 1 big piece. I also found that I only need about 1/2 of the salad dressing. Bertolli makes a mild tasting olive oil which is what I used for the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Terrific salad recipe. Was VERY tasty! Everyone raved, and asked for seconds. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Definitely 5 stars! I had to take some liberties with the species of fruit I used, but otherwise was straight on. I served this with sliced cooked chicken on the salad. The only thing that would make this perfect would be a bit of cheese -- I think we'll have this with feta next time! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This salad was amazing and I had 3 other guests who agreed. I was hesitant about all of these fruits together in one salad but it was wonderful. Don't change a thing. The only thing I changed for the time factor was that I used bagged salad (1 1/4 bags of European mix). I think spring mix or romaine would work best. The slightly bitter lettuce combined with the celery and chives balanced out the sweetness perfectly. FYI- on medium heat, my almonds took over 10 minutes to toast and melt the sugar. I also did not make the dressing. I had every intention of a balsamic vinegar and olive oil based dressing from another recipe but I spilled it and then had to use bottled dressing from the fridge. Regardess, it worked great with light balsamic vinegrette and light rasberry balsamic vinegrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States