The Really Good Salad Recipe with Pieces of Fruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Definitely 5 stars! I had to take some liberties with the species of fruit I used, but otherwise was straight on. I served this with sliced cooked chicken on the salad. The only thing that would make this perfect would be a bit of cheese -- I think we'll have this with feta next time! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Great salad! Peaches are not in season right now, so I skipped those and added more mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This salad was amazing and I had 3 other guests who agreed. I was hesitant about all of these fruits together in one salad but it was wonderful. Don't change a thing. The only thing I changed for the time factor was that I used bagged salad (1 1/4 bags of European mix). I think spring mix or romaine would work best. The slightly bitter lettuce combined with the celery and chives balanced out the sweetness perfectly. FYI- on medium heat, my almonds took over 10 minutes to toast and melt the sugar. I also did not make the dressing. I had every intention of a balsamic vinegar and olive oil based dressing from another recipe but I spilled it and then had to use bottled dressing from the fridge. Regardess, it worked great with light balsamic vinegrette and light rasberry balsamic vinegrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Yummy. Could do with less sugar in the dressing since all our fruit and the candied nuts were plenty sweet. Other than that, I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpecialKsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent salad! I have made this twice and both times it was a hit. I used store bought glazed almonds and bottled raspberry vinaigrette dressing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
AMAZING!! The celery really adds a perfect touch! Any fruit works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I kind of added some of my own stuff to this salad. It was really good. Loved the dressing. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is the best salad I have ever made! I have gotten so many requests for the recipe. The one thing I learned the hard way is that after the almonds are browned, immediately toss them with the lettuce. The first time I made it, I let them cool and then had to carefully heat them up again so I could separate then because they hardened into 1 big piece. I also found that I only need about 1/2 of the salad dressing. Bertolli makes a mild tasting olive oil which is what I used for the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Terrific salad recipe. Was VERY tasty! Everyone raved, and asked for seconds. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Nuts are great! I used 1/8 tsp of thyme and herbal red wine vinegar in the dressing. It was wonderful. Substitute any type of fresh fruit. Rave reviews from the dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States